MI beat RCB by 46 runs | Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Live Cricket Score 14th T20 Match

Indian Premier League, 2018

Date: Apr 17, 2018 Start Time: 20:00 IST | 14:30 GMT | 20:00 Local
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
213/6 Overs: 20.0
167/8 Overs: 20.0
Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 46 runs

Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Live Cricket Score - 14th T20 Match - Summary

End of Over : 20.0 RCB: 167/8

Another one-sided contest we just witnessed. The action now moves to Jaipur where Rajasthan will host Kolkata on 18th April at 2000 IST (1430 GMT). Do join us for all the action and let's hope for a close game. Cheers!

19.6 0

A dot to end the innings! On a length and on the pads, Kohli tries to whip but misses to get hit high on the thigh pad. MUMBAI WIN BY 46 RUNS!

19.5 0

The 100 looks farfetched now! He needs 8 from 1 as this is a dot ball. A short ball on middle, Kohli mistimes his pull towards long on and turns down the single.

19.4 6

SIX! He has picked the bones out of that one! A slower ball on middle, Kohli goes down on one knee and deposits it over the long on stand. He moves onto 92 and he has 2 balls to get 8 runs for his century.

19.3 0

Back of a length again, Kohli swings but this time is beaten by the bounce.

19.2 4

EDGY FOUR! Again it is a length ball on off, Kohli tries to go big but the ball takes the outside edge and goes over short third man for a boundary.

19.1 2

Length ball, Kohli hits it over covers and gets two. A brace to start the last over. Not enough, not even six maximums would be enough.

End of Over : 19 18 Runs RCB: 155/8
18.6 1

On middle, Kohli whips it through mid-wicket and he retains strike.

18.5 1

Driven towards the mid off region. The batsmen have run through for a single.

18.4 6

SIX! Mohammed Siraj says he can bat too! On a length and it is the cutter on middle. Siraj lines it up and pulls it over the mid-wicket fence for the second biggie of the over.

18.3 1

A yorker on middle, Kohli jams it out towards covers for a quick run.

18.2 1

A single off the Free Hit as Siraj pulls it towards deep mid-wicket for a run.

18.2 2

NO BALL! Kohli times it to deep mid-wicket for a run. Mustafizur has overstepped. So a Free Hit coming up. Luckily for him Kohli will not be on strike.

18.1 6

SIX! HUGEEE! Mustafizur has gone for plenty in this game. He bowls it full and on off, Kohli tonks it over the long on fence for half a dozen.


Winless Mumbai Indians will pit their might against formidable Royal Challengers Bangalore in an adrenaline-charged Indian Premier League match on Tuesday. Both teams, with a plethora of explosive batsmen, are yet to find their feet in the T20 league and would be keen to gather some momentum with a victory at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.


If MI have their problems to sort out, having lost at the death in all three games so far, RCB too have their own shortcomings to address with only one win in three games under their belt. Both the games held here so far have gone down to the wire and on both occasions MI have had their chances to go across the line and fumbled on the doorstep against Chennai Super Kings in the season opener and then Delhi Daredevils.


In between they had also lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad in their first away game of the season, so that the three-time champions led by Rohit Sharma are placed at the bottom of the eight-team table. MI had been in worse situations before recovering poise to become eventual champions.


RCB started off on the losing note away from home to Kolkata Knight Riders, brought their campaign on track immediately with a convincing victory over Kings XI Punjab at home and then lost a high-scoring game to Rajasthan Royals at home on Saturday.


RCB\'s bowlers, especially Umesh Yadav who had broken the back of KXIP innings with a three-wicket burst in one over, went for plenty against the Royals who set up the highest total so far of the season, 217, by riding on Sanju Samson\'s blistering 45-ball 92 not out.


After the pace trio\'s profligacy RCB need to set right their bowling woes as MI possess a strong batting line up that threatened to score over 200 in their previous game before the Daredevils bowlers restricted them below that threshold.


Barring leggie Yuzvendra Chahal, who bowled brilliantly to grab 2 for 22, the other RCB bowlers had an off day against the Royals. But on the positive side was the encouraging return to form of captain Virat Kohli who struck a quick-fire 57.


With a batting line-up boasting of Brendon McCullum, Kohli and AB de Villiers, no target will look insurmountable for the visitors, and three-time champions MI will be aware of this. MI\'s batting, on the other hand, failed to rocket off in the first two games and when it clicked the bowlers lost the plot. The move to promote local guy Suryakumar Yadav has been a success but their best batsman, skipper Rohit, is yet to make a big contribution with the bat.


The Pandya brothers Hardik and Krunal along with giant West Indian Kieron Pollard too have not made big impacts in the first three games. Rookie leg-spinner Mayank Markhande has been their most successful bowler with good economy rate along with Mustafizur Rehman, but Jasprit Bumrah has also not lived up to his tag of the world\'s best white ball bowler.


MI have replaced injured Australian fast bowler Pat Cummins with New Zealander Adam Milne and will be looking up to a comprehensive combined show to avoid a fourth straight defeat of the season.


Teams (from): Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(c), Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis, Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Mayank Markande, Akila Dhananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Brendon McCullum, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Manan Vohra, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Tim Southee.