On August 5, 2019, the Indian government abrogated a law enshrined in the country's constitution that guaranteed special status to Jammu & Kashmir. The law - Article 370 - was repealed with the intent to integrate the frontier region with the rest of India. Along with its abrogation, the Narendra Modi-led regime also bifurcated the state into two units - J&K and Ladakh - and designated them as union territories.