Karnataka Election Results 2018: Siddaramaiah Defeated in Chamundeswari, Faces Jittery Contest in Badami
While Siddaramaiah has polled 67,599 votes in Badami, his nearest rival, the Bharatiya Janata Party's B Sriramulu, received 65,903 votes | File Image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

Bengaluru, May 15: In a major jolt to the Congress, not only the party slipped behind the Bharatiya Janata Party in the statewide electoral race, but its incumbent CM Siddaramaiah was also handed a massive defeat from the Chamundeswari seat.

Siddaramaiah, who polled 80,570 votes got defeated by a  margin over 25,000 votes by Janata Dal (Secular) leader GT Deve Gowda. Meanwhile, in Badami - the second seat from where Siddaramaiah contested - he was facing a jittery contest till this report was first published.

While Siddaramaiah has polled 67,599 votes in Badami, his nearest rival, the Bharatiya Janata Party's B Sriramulu, received 65,903 votes.

The electoral performance of Siddaramaiah has stunned pollsters as the 69-year-old was projected as the face of Congress in the state. In case of the party retaining the seat, he was most likely to continue as the Chief Minister.

As per the trends which were out so far, the BJP was most likely to win between 105-115 seats, where the Congress was reduced to 71-79 seats. Meanwhile, the JD(S) was leading in 39-42 seats.

Although the BJP mainted a definite lead in terms of seats, the Congress grabbed a larger share of the votes. The party's electoral share, as per the data shared by the Election Commission at 1:44 pm, is 37.9 per cent, whereas, the BJP secured 36.5 per cent of the votes.