BJP Sweeps Kodagu District, Wins Both Madikeri & Virajpet Assembly Seats
Kodagu district, Karnataka assembly elections 2018

Voting for Kodagu district was held in single-phase polling along with other places on May 12. In both Madikeri and Virajpet constituencies of the Kodagu district, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won with a majority just like in the 2013 assembly elections. The Election Commission of India declared results for the two assembly seats today.

In Madikeri, former minister and sitting BJP MLA Appachu Ranjan won. He was pitted against, Congress' KP Chandrakala and JD(S) former minister and veteran leader B.A. Jivijaya. In Virajpet, KG Bopaiah bagged the seat with a majority.

Watch live streaming of the Karnataka elections here. Also, catch early trends of the elections with live updates here.

Kodagu District-wise assembly election results

Madikeri Constituency Results 2018:

Virajpet Constituency Results 2018:

The Election Commission on Saturday noted that so far, the voter turnout is 70 percent in Karnataka which is a slight dip compared to 71.4 percent in 2013 elections. Kodagu district witnessed a high voter turnout, with Madikeri constituency recording a poll percentage of 77.5 percent and Virajpet 72.5 percent.

Karnataka has over 5.06-crore electorate including 2.56 crore men, 2.5 crore women and over 5,000 in third gender category. For the single-phase polling in 30 districts, 56,008 polling stations were set up of which 600 were marked as pink booths to attract female voters.