Bravery Awards on Independence Day 2019: Indian Army Sapper Prakash Jadhav to be Conferred With Kirti Chakra, 8 Others to Get Shaurya Chakra
Kirti Chakra (Photo Credits: File Photo)

New Delhi, August 14: Indian Army’s Sapper Prakash Jadhav of 1 Rashtriya Rifles to be conferred with Kirti Chakra (posthumously) on Independence Day.  Jadhav laid down his life while fighting terrorists in Khulgham area of Jammu and Kashmir's Pulwama district last year. Jadhav belonged to Karnataka's Nipani Talika. Jadhav joined the Indian Army in 2007. He is survived by a wife and a daughter. Rifleman Aurangzeb And Major Aditya Kumar Awarded Shaurya Chakra Posthumously.

Apart from Jadhav, eight other Army personnel will also be conferred with Shaurya Chakra. Five of them will be awarded the third-highest gallantry award of peacetime posthumously. Kirti Chakra is second in order of precedence of peacetime gallantry awards. It comes after Ashoka Chakra and before Shaurya Chakra.

Indian Air Force (IAF) pilot Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman will also be conferred with Vir Chakra on Independence Day. He is being bestowed with the honour for exhibiting bravery against grave danger. The Indian Air Force (IAF) officer shot down Pakistan's F-16 fighter jet during aerial combat on February 27. According to reports, five IAF pilots who conducted airstrikes in Pakistan's Balakot will also get Vayu Sena medal.

Nineteen Indo-Tibetan Border Police officials will also be conferred with Police Medals on Independence Day. Out of these, five to be conferred with Police Medal for Gallantry,  four with President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service and 10 to be conferred with Police Medal for Meritorious Service. Meanwhile, 56 personnel have been awarded Fire Service Medals on the occasion of the Independence Day this year. Of these, President’s Fire Service Medal for Gallantry have been awarded to one personnel, President’s Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service to eight personnel and Fire Service Medal for Meritorious Service to 47 personnel.

Forty-four personnel have also been awarded Home Guard and Civil Defence Medals. Of these, President’s HG and CD Medal for Distinguished Service have been awarded to eight personnel and Home Guards and Civil Defence Medal for Meritorious Service to 36 personnel.