New Delhi, June 27: As coronavirus (COVID-19) cases continue to rise across India, several state governments have either extended the lockdown or announced a complete shutdown in some parts to contain the spread of the deadly virus. Maharashtra is latest to join the list of states that have extended the lockdown till July 31. States like Assam and Tamil Nadu have announced the complete shutdown in some districts where COVID-19 cases increased.

Maharashtra: The Uddhav Thackeray government has extended the lockdown in Maharashtra till July 31. The state government has allowed local and district authorities to enforce certain measures and necessary restrictions in specified local areas on the permitted non-essential activities and movement of persons to control the coronavirus spread. All government offices with certain exceptions like emergency, health, medical, treasuries, disaster management and police can function with 15 percent strength or 15 persons whichever is higher. All private offices can operate up to 10 percent strength or 10 people whichever is more.

Manipur: Chief Minister N Biren Singh has announced to extend the ongoing lockdown for another 15 days from July 1 to 15 in Manipur. Inter-district bus service will be operational between July 1 and 15 maintaining all COVID-19 safety measures and no other public transport will ply during this period.

Jharkhand: The Jharkhand government on Saturday issued a circular, extending the lockdown till July 31 to contain the spread of coronavirus in the state. All schools and religious places will remain closed during this period. Jharkhand has recorded 2,290 coronavirus cases and 12 deaths so far.

West Bengal: The Mamata Banerjee government has extended the lockdown in the state till July 31 to contain the spread of COVID-19 infections. She also relaxed the night curfew hours during the extended COVID-19 lockdown across the state. From July 1 onwards, the night curfew hours will be from 10 pm to 5 am, instead of 9 pm to 5 am.

Assam: Alarmed by the sudden spike in the number coronavirus cases, the Assam government has decided to promulgate 14-day 'total lockdown' from Monday midnight in Guwahati till July 12, 12-hour night curfew in the entire state and 'complete lockdown' on Saturdays and Sundays in major cities and towns. All government and non-government offices, markets, shops, business establishments, commercial and industrial units will remain closed and no public or private transport would be allowed to operate in Guwahati for 14 days starting Monday midnight.

Tamil Nadu: The Tamil Nadu government has announced a strict lockdown in four districts - Chennai, Kancheepuram, Tiruvallur and Chengalpattu - till June 30. While relaxations have been given during other days but on Sundays, the relaxations will not apply.

Delhi: While the lockdown has not been extended, the Delhi government has announced that all schools in the national capital will remain shut till July 31.

Telangana: Due to the spike in coronavirus infection in Hyderabad, several shops, business establishments and markets have decided to observe voluntary lockdown for a period ranging between seven and 10 days. The Hyderabad Kirana Merchants Association decided to close the Begum Bazaar, the largest in the city, from June 28 till July 5. The ever-bustling markets around Charminar are also shut.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jun 29, 2020 04:27 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website