Jammu And Kashmir: Helpline Numbers Issued For Kashmiris Outside State, Special Trains Announced
Jammu and Kashmir. (Photo Credits: IANS)

Srinagar, August 8: In view of the tense situation in Jammu and Kashmir following revocation of special status of the state under Article 370, the administration on Thursday announced helpline numbers for residents of the state living outside for assistance in travelling back home and contacting relatives in Kashmir. Special trains have also been announced for people returning home in Jammu and Kashmir.

"DC Office #Srinagar has established two helplines 9419028242, 9419028251. Residents/Students outside state can contact. Families back home are also using these lines to reach out," Srinagar District Magistrate Shahid Choudhary tweeted. "Special trains/coaches from Udhampur/Jammu have been coordinated in view of large number of workers including those going home on Eid. DTM Mr Chetan coordinating. +919797532910," he added. Jammu and Kashmir Loses Privileges Under Article 370, Article 35A: What Does it Mean For Kashmiris and Other Indians?

"Workers intending to visit homes in other states are being facilitated. 56 buses carrying 1940 passengers moved yesterday. More today," Choudhary said in another tweet. The District Magistrate said more than 300 vehicles are pressed for the movement of students from various districts of Kashmir, Jammu, Ladakh and outside the region. Article 370 Revoked: Nirmal Singh Removes Jammu And Kashmir Flag From Official Vehicle, Watch Video.

Kashmir has been on lockdown since Sunday and all communication services in the region have been blocked, including cellular network, landline, mobile internet, and broadband connectivity. Kashmiris, especially students, are struggling to contact their families back in the Valley.

President Ram Nath Kovind on Wednesday signed an order ending the special status granted to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370, a day after Parliament passed the resolution, along with a bill to bifurcate the state into two Union Territories - Jammu and Kashmir with a legislature and Ladakh without a legislature. (With IANS inputs)