Bangalore South Lok Sabha Constituency in Karnataka Results 2019: BJP Candidate Tejasvi Surya Elected As MP
Bangalore South Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Bangalore South is one of the Lok Sabha constituency out of the 28 constituencies in the Indian state of Karnataka. Currently, the seat is vacant since 12 November 2018 due to the untimely passing away of MP Ananth Kumar. The 17th Lok Sabha election 2019 for this constituency will be held on April 18, 2019. The parliament constituency number of this constituency is 26. The results of the Bangalore South Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Parliamentary seat in Bangalore South at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Bangalore South seat in the second phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 54.47 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Bangalore South Lok Sabha seat in Karnataka. BJP Candidate Tejasvi Surya won General Election 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

Tejaswi Surya from Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and BK Hariprasad from Indian National Congress(INC) have been nominated to compete for the Lok Sabha seat of Bangalore south in General Election 2019. The Election Commission has declared March 26, 2019, as the last date of filing on nominations from the seats. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 29, 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase II: List of States And Constituencies Voting On April 18.

Watch Lok Sabha Phase II Polls Details

During 16th Lok Sabha Polls, Ananth Kumar from Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) defeated Nandan Nilekani from Indian National Congress(INC). The other candidate who competed for this seat was Ruth Manorama from Janata Dal (Secular). The BJP candidate won by a margin of 2,28,575 votes where he secured 6,33,816 votes. The total turnout of voters was 11,13,726. Ananth Kumar served as served as the Union Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers and Parliamentary Affairs from 2014 till his death in 2018.

The 17th Lok Sabha election will be held throughout India from April 11, 2019, and it will last till May 19, 2019. The polling will be done in 7 phases. The result for each phase will be declared on May 23, 2019.