Bastar Lok Sabha Constituency in Chhattisgarh Results 2019: Congress Candidate Deepak Baij Elected as MP
Bastar Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Raipur, March 23: Congress candidate Deepak Baij won Bastar parliamentary seat in Chhattisgarh. Polling for Lok Sabha election 2019 in Bastar parliamentary constituency of Chhattisgarh was held on April 11 in the first phase of general polls. The parliamentary seat is currently held by Dinesh Kashyap of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which has decided not to bet on him again.

In Bastar Lok Sabha constituency, the electoral contest will be between Baiduram Kashyap of the BJP and Congress candidate Deepak Baij who is an MLA from Chitrakoot assembly seat. The process of filing nomination for Bastar Lok Sabha election began from March 18. The last day for nominations was March 25. Scrutiny was done on March 26 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was March 28. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: How Staggered Polling Could Help BJP.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP, riding on Modi wave, registered a landslide victory winning 10 out of 11 seats in Chhattisgarh, whereas the Congress could win just one. However, in the 2018 assembly election, Congress wrested power from the BJP winning 68 out of 90 seats. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for polling in first phase:

Issue of Notification March 18
Last date for filing nomination March 25
Scrutiny of nomination March 26
Last date for withdrawal of candidature March 28
Date Of Poll April 11
Date of Result May 23

Watch Lok Sabha election schedule for first phase:

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and will be held in seven phases across the country followed by counting of votes on May 23. Prime Minister Narendra Modi led the BJP, which is contesting to retain power for the second consecutive time, is challenged by the opposition led by the Congress.