BJP Sweeps North India Except For Punjab, Set To Win All Lok Sabha Seats in Haryana, Delhi, Most in Uttar Pradesh, Jammu And Kashmir
BJP Sweeps North India (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, May 23: In a stunning electoral show on Thursday, the BJP-led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to retain power for another five years after making a sweep in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The ruling BJP is set to win with a thumping majority in the election battle in several northern states, mauling the opposition. According to trends by the Election Commission of India (ECI), BJP candidates were leading in 294 of the 541 Lok Sabha seats with its allies faring equally well across the country. The initial trends however, stunned the opposition, thus proving the exit polls right that PM Modi will come to power even in 2019. BJP Leads in All Constituencies of Uttarakhand and Himachal Pradesh With Comfortable Margin.

The BJP workers on Thursday celebrated in several states including Uttarakhand, Punjab, Haryana among other states as the saffron party was set for a landslide victory in these states. The BJP received good news from almost all parts of the Hindi heartland including Uttar Pradesh, where the SP-BSP alliance was expected to trip its path to victory, and neighbouring Bihar where it is allied with the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and others. List of BJP Winners in Lok Sabha Polls.

In Delhi, the BJP was leading in all the seven seats. As soon as the initial trends were out by the Election Commission of India, BJP supporters raised slogans of celebration outside the party headquarters in New Delhi. As per trends. Congress' senior leader Sheila Dikshit was trailing and BJP's Manoj Tiwari was leading by a margin of 29,797 votes in North East Delhi.

In Uttar Pradesh, BJP was leading in a whopping 58 constituencies, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in 8 and 11 seats respectively. The BJP has established comfortable lead while the SP-BSP-RLD alliance is leading only on 21 seats, the EC data shows. The Congress continues to lead only on the Rae Bareli seat where UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi is a candidate. Catch Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates.

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi is leading by over 2.5 lakh votes in Varanasi, his nearest rival is SP's Shalini Yadav as Congress' Ajay Rai is a very distant third. Meanwhile, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has regained his prestige in Gorakhpur by ensuring the victory of BJP candidate and Bhojpuri star Ravi Kishan. On Thursday, Kishan was leading with over 70,000 votes over his nearest rival Ram Bhual Nishad of Samajwadi Party.

Meanwhile, in Amethi, Smriti Irani continued to lead over Congress President Rahul Gandhi. In Azamgarh, Samajwadi president Akhilesh Yadav was leading over his nearest BJP rival Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirahua. Narendra Modi, Smriti Irani, Gautam Gambhir Lead From Varanasi, Amethi, East Delhi Lok Sabha Seats; Congress On The Backfoot

In Uttarakhand, the BJP candidates consolidated their leads in all the five seats in the states, the vote trend by the EC showed. In the five seats, the BJP was leading by over 2 lakh votes against the Congress rivals. BJP state President Ajay Bhatt was leading by 2.15 votes against Congress General Secretary and former Chief Minister Harish Rawat from Nainital seat.

In Himachal Pradesh, the main contest was between the Congress and the BJP. The ruling BJP retained all the four Lok Sabha seats- Mandi, Hamirpur, Kangra and Shimla (SC), in the state as its candidates won by a record huge margins, as per trends by ECI. Hamirpur sitting MP Anurag Thakur, Kangra candidate Kishan Kapoor, Shimla candidate Suresh Kashyap and Mandi sitting MP Ram Swaroop Sharma were leading in their seats by defeating their Congress rivals. Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur thanked all the voters for the landslide victory of the party. Trend Shows NDA Closing In at 345-Mark, PM Modi Set to Begin 2nd Term.

In Punjab, Congress is currently leading on 8 Lok Sabha constituencies, while the BJP-SAD alliance is ahead on five seats. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is leading on one seat.

In Jammu and Kashmir, the BJP was leading in three out of the six seats while the  Jammu & Kashmir National Conference (NC) were leading in the rest of the three constituencies in the state, as per trends by the EC. Three BJP candidates - Jugal Kishore, Jamyang Tsering Namgyal and Dr Jitendra Singh are set to win the seat as they are leading by huge margins on the Jammu, Ladakh and Udhampur seats in the state. On the other three constituencies of Srinagar, Anantnag and Baramulla, the NC is leading. BJP Leads On More Than 300 Seats in Lok Sabha Elections 2019. 

In Haryana, the BJP is leading on all the ten seats in the state. In 2014, the BJP had won seven of the 10 Lok Sabha seats. The then ruling Congress had lost eight of the nine seats it had won in 2009. Meanwhile, the INLD, which won two seats in 2014, had increased its vote share to 24.4 per cent from 15.78 per cent in 2009.

According to trends released by the EC, BJP alone was set to bag 298 seats- more than the 282 it won in 2014. If reports are to be believed, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) along with its allies could end up with 343 of the 542 Lok Sabha seats where polling took place.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 was held in seven phases starting April 11. The seven-phased elections ended on May 19.  Scores of BJP workers cheered to the slogans like 'Modi once again', 'Har Har Modi' and 'Vande Mataram', hundreds of BJP supporters burst into celebrations at the party headquarters here on Thursday as the Narendra Modi-led government appeared set to stage a thumping comeback.