By-Elections to 4 Assembly Seats in Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Tripura and Uttar Pradesh to be Held on September 23
Voting | Representational Image (Photo Credits: IANS)

New Delhi, August 25: The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the schedule for the polling dates for the by-elections to be held in four legislative assembly seats spread in Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Tripura and Uttar Pradesh. Voting in Dantewada, Pala, Badarghat and Hamirpur will be held on September 23, the polling body announced.

Results of the bypolls will be declared on September 27, officials said. While Dantewada is located in Maoist-hit belt of Chhattisgarh, Pala falls in Kerala. The reserved seat of Badarghat is located in Tripura, whereas, Hamirupur constituency is in Uttar Pradesh. Assembly Polls Unlikely Till 2021 in Union Territory of J&K, Say ECI Sources

ECI Schedule For Bypolls:

The bypolls comes days before the assembly elections expected to be held in October-November in Haryana, Jharkhand and Maharashtra. Dates of the three-state assembly elections are yet to be announced by the Election Commission.

The high-stake polls in the above states will act as the first litmus test for the re-elected Narendra Modi government at the Centre. A victory for the BJP will boost the ruling dispensation which has taken bold steps after returning to power at the Centre. A series of tough decisions taken by the government include revocation of Article 370 in Jammu & Kashmir and passing the Triple Talaq Bill in both the Houses of the Parliament.