Chandigarh Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Complete Schedule of Voting And Results For General Elections
Image used for representational purpose.

New Delhi, March 10: The Election Commission on Sunday announced the polling dates for the 17th Lok Sabha Elections. The polling for the Lok Sabha for the 543 seats will take place in Seven (7) Phases from April 11 to May 19, 2019 while the counting of votes will take place on May 23, 2019. The polling in Chandigarh would take place in the Seventh (7th) phase on May 19, 2019 for the single seat. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections. 

The election dates were announced by three Election Commissioners – Sunil Arora (Chief EC), Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra – in the national capital. The Commissioners informed that adequate security arrangements have been done for the smooth conduction of polls in the country and especially Chandigarh. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Constituency-Wise Schedule: Check The Voting Dates of Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata & Other Cities. 

Here is the Complete Schedule for Elections (Constituency-Wise):

Phase 7 Sl No.  PC No.  Constituency   Category
19/05/2019 1 1 Chandigarh GEN
(Polling Date)

Here is the Complete Schedule for Elections (State-Wise):

Phase Polling Date States Election Result
1 April 11, 2019 Andhra Pradesh-25,Arunachal Pradesh-2, Bihar-4, Assam-5,Chattisgarh-1,Jammu & Kashmir-2,Maharashtra-7,Manipur-1,Meghalaya-2, Mizoram-1,Nagaland-1,Orrisa-4,Sikkim-1,Telangana-17,Tripura-1,Uttar Pradesh-8,Uttarakhand-5,West Bengal-2,Andaman & Nicobar-1,Lakhswadeep-1 (Total-91) May 23, 2019
2 April 18, 2019 Assam-5, Bihar-5,Chattisgarh-3,Jammu & Kashmir-2,Karnataka-14,Maharashtra-10,Manipur-1,Orrisa-5,Tamil Nadu-39,Tripura-1,Uttar Pradesh-8, West Bengal-3,Pondicherry-1 (Total-97) May 23, 2019
3 April 23, 2019 Assam-4,Bihar-5,Chattisgarh-7,Gujarat-26,Goa-2,Jammu & Kashmir-1,Karnataka-14,Kerala-20, Maharashtra-14,Orrisa-6,Uttar Pradesh-10,West Bengal-5,Dadra & Nagar Haveli-1,Daman & Diu-1 (Total-115) May 23, 2019
4 April 29, 2019 Bihar-5, Jammu & Kashmir-1,Jharkhand-3,Madhya Pradesh-6,Maharshtra-17,Orrisa-2,Rajasthan-13, Uttar Pradesh-13, west Bengal-8 (Total-71) May 23, 2019
5 May 6, 2019 Bihar-5, Jammu and Kashmir-2,Jharkhand-4,Madhya Pradesh-7,Rajasthan-12,Uttar Pradesh-14,West Bengal-7 (Total-51) May 23,2019
6 May 12, 2019 Bihar-8,Haryana-10,Jharkhand-4,Madhya Pradesh-8,Uttar Pradesh-14, West Bengal-8, Delhi-7 (Total-59) May 23,2019
7 May 19, 2019 Bihar-8,Jharkhand-3,Madhya Pradesh-8,Punjab-13,West Bengal-9, Chandigarh-1, Uttar Pradesh-13, Himachal Pradesh-4 (Total-59) May 23, 2019

In the last Lok Sabha Elections in 2014, Bharatiya Janata Party’s Kirron Kher defeated Congress’s sitting MP Pawan Kumar Bansal by 69,642 votes and secured 42.2 per cent votes. While Aam Aadmi Party’s Gulkirat Kaur Panag managed to finish the third spot with 1,08,679 votes. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections. 

In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Chandigarh had 3,33,621 males voters and 2,81,593 females voters. However, only 2,44,956 males and 2,08,499 females exercised their democratic rights. Due to this, the male voting turnout was 73.42 per cent for males, and the female voter turnout was 74.04 per cent. Combinedly, the total voting percent was 73.71 per cent  (ECI, 2014). It is most expected that there would be a rise in the number of voter in 2019, as the ECI had declared that they would be updating the list soon.