Chandigarh Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Phase 7 Voting Ends For Chandigarh Parliamentary Constituency; 63.57% Voter Turnout Recorded
Chandigarh Lok Sabha Elections 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Chandigarh, May 19: The voting for the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019, ended in the union territory of Chandigarh. The UT has sole representation in the Lok Sabha, and voting in the constituency took place in a single phase today. The counting of votes will take on May 23. A total of  63.57 percent voter turnout was recorded. Chandigarh Lok Sabha Constituency: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019.

A total of 36 candidates were in the fray in the sixth phase of elections in Chandigarh. There were a total of 6,19,285 voters in Chandigarh. Out which 3,27,984 were males and 2,91,282 were females and 560 were third gender voters. Over 597 polling booths were set up across the UT. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23.

Each polling booth in Chandigarh, going to the polls on Sunday, had three electronic voting machines (EVMs) to accommodate 36 Lok Sabha candidates. Since an EVM can carry only 16 names, the Election Commission had arranged for three EVMs at each booth to accommodate all the candidates as well as the 'none of the above' (NOTA) option. Punjab Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The main fight in Chandigarh was between the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party has fielded the sitting MP Kirron Kher, while the Congress has given the ticket to former MP Pawan Kumar Bansal.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Kher had defeated Congress’ sitting MP Bansal by 69,642 votes and secured 42.2 per cent votes. While Aam Aadmi Party’s Gulkirat Kaur Panag managed to finish at the third spot with 1,08,679 votes.