A total of 74.17 per cent of the over 1.85 crore electors cast their votes in the Chhattisgarh assembly polls, which is less by nearly three per cent as compared to the last elections, according to the Election Commission. Results will be announced on December 11.

Around 64.8 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 5 pm in 72 constituencies in the second and final phase of the Chhattisgarh Assembly polls on Tuesday.

The Election Commission has recorded 58.47 per cent voter-turnout till 4pm in the ongoing phase-2 of Chhattisgarh assembly elections 2018. The polling is scheduled to conclude at 5pm.

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh registered his vote at a polling booth in Kawardha constituency.

A delegation comprising senior Congress leaders, including PL Punia, met the Election Commission officials in Delhi to discuss their concerns over "EVM tampering" in Chhattisgarh.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has appealed the Chhattisgarh electorate to come out and vote in large numbers in the phase-2 of the elections. In a non-partisan appeal on Twitter, the PM said each vote will strengthen democracy.

Voter turnout has remained significant in the first two-hours said reports based on the ground assessment. The initial polling percentage, recorded till 10am, will be released by the Election Commission shortly.

Voting is underway across the 72 constituencies of Chhattisgarh, with over one lakh security personnel deployed for smooth conduct of the polls.

Raipur, November 20: Second phase of the Chhattisgarh assembly elections 2018 is currently underway, with voting being held across 72 constituencies of he state. A total of 1,079 candidates are in the fray in phase-2 of the polls, with the contest in most constituencies primarily being a three-cornered contest between the BJP, Congress and JCC-BSP alliance. Stay tuned here for the live news updates.

While the Congress and the BJP have fielded candidates on all 72 seats, Ajit Singh's Janta Chhattisgarh Congress is contesting on 46 assembly segments and its ally - the BSP in 25 constituencies. The Aam Aadmi Party is also vying for 66 seats in this round of the elections. Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018: Key Candidates and Constituencies to Watch Out in Phase-2 Polls.

The polls are scheduled to be held between 8am to 5pm, in over 19,000 voting booths earmarked by the Election Commission. An electorate size of nearly 1.5 crore is registered to participate in the polls, comprising of 77 lakh male and over 76 lakh female voters. Nearly 1,000 voters are of the third gender.

The second phase of elections features the candidatures of key leaders, including former chief minister Ajit Jogi and Congress state unit president Bhupesh Baghel. They are contesting from Marwahi and Patan seats, respectively.

In phase-1 of the elections held on November 12, 18 seats were contested in the Left-Wing Extremism (LWE) affected areas of Rajnandgaon and Bastar. Despite the boycott call issued by naxals, an unprecedented voter turnout of 76.28 per cent was recorded.