Daman & Diu Lok Sabha Constituency: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Daman and Diu Lok Sabha constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Daman & Diu is the only Lok Sabha constituency in the Union Territory of Daman & Diu in western India. In 1987, this constituency came into existence, following the implementation of the Goa, Daman and Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987.  The date of poll for this seat is April 23, 2019 as per the phase 3 schedule of Election Commision of India. The constituency number of this seat is PC No.1. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

The parties are yet to declare nominees for the Lok Sabha seats in Daman & Diu. The Election Commission has declared April 4, 2019, as the last date of filing on nomination from the seats. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 8, 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase III: List of States And Constituencies Voting On April 23.

Watch: Details of LoK Sabha Polls Phase III

Lalubhai Patel from BJP won the seat here in the last General Election of 2014 by securing 46,960 votes. He defeated Ketan Patel of Indian National Congress(INC) by a margin of 9,222 votes. Even Aam Aadmi Party candidate Kessur Goan and Bahujan Samaj Party's Bhavesh Patel contested in the 16th Lok Sabha election for this seat. Total of 1316 voters pressed on the NOTA button in the last election. The total turnaround of voters were 87,233 voters.

The 17th Lok Sabha Election will be held throughout the country starting from April 11, 2019. The polling will be conducted in 7 phases with last phase held on April 19, 2019. The result for this General Election 2019 will be out on May 23, 2019.