DUSU Elections 2018: Voting Begins For Delhi University Students' Union Polls as NSUI, ABVP Vie For Top Posts
Students queued up to vote in the DUSU polls | File image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, Sept 12: Voting for the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections is currently underway in 52 colleges affiliated with the varsity. Polling for the morning colleges is being conducted from 8 am to 1:30 pm. Evening colleges will hold the polls between 3 pm to 7:30 pm. The official results are scheduled to be declared tomorrow, September 13.

A total of 23 candidates are in the fray, contesting for the posts of president, vice president, secretary and joint secretary. The prime electoral battle is between the NSUI, affiliated to the Indian National Congress; ABVP, student-wing backed by the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh; and the Left aligned CSYY-AISA alliance.

Candidates for DUSU presidents' post:

  • NSUI has nominated 21-year-old Sunny Chillar.
  • ABVP has fielded Ankiv Baisoya, 23.
  • Abhigyan, 18, is the candidate of AISA-CYSS alliance.

Candidates for DUSU vice-presidents' post:

  • 23-year-old Leena fielded by NSUI.
  • Shakti Singh, 23, is the ABVP nominee.
  • CSYY-AISA has fielded 17-year-old Anshika.

DUSU Elections Results of 2017:

In the polls held last year, the Congress-backed NSUI had emerged victorious, winning the presidents' and vice-presidents' post. The ABVP had bagged the secretary's post.

The president-elect last year was NSUI leader Rocky Tuseed, whereas, the vice president-elect was Kunal Sehrawat. Secretary's post was won by ABVP's Mahamedha Nagar.