Gauhati Lok Sabha Constituency in Assam: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date and Election Results 2019
Gauhati Lok Sabha Constituency in Assam (Photo Credits: File Image)

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: A parliamentary seat alternating between the Indian National Congress (INC) party and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Gauhati Lok Sabha constituency belongs to the north-eastern state of Assam and is one of the 14 seats that represent the north-eastern state of Assam. The Election Commission of India (ECI) has declared the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 schedule, according to which, polling in Gauhati will take place on the third phase of the General Elections, scheduled on April 23. Kaliabor Lok Sabha Constituency in Assam. 

The Congress has given the ticket to Bobbeeta Sharma, while the Trinamool has fielded Manoj Sharma from Guahati Lok Sabha constituency. Queen Oja is contesting on Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) ticket. As per ECI, the last date for filling the nominations was April 4, 2019. Besides, the candidature names were withdrawn till April 8, and the counting of votes as decided will be held on May 23, 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule. 

Watch Video: Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Schedule

The Lok Sabha Elections 2014 in Gauhati was won by Smt. Bijoya Chakraborty, member of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), who secured whopping 7,64,985 votes. The runner up that year was a member of Indian National Congress (INC), Manash Borah, who managed to achieve 4,49,201 votes. Meanwhile, Smt. Bijoya Chakraborty is also the current sitting member of parliament of the Gauhati constituency.

The upcoming Lok Sabha Elections will take place from April 11 to May 23. The voting in 2019 will take place in seven phases between April 11 to May 19, 2019. The final counting and declaration of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results' is to be held on May 23.