Hours After Cabinet Expansion, Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa Orders Newly Inducted Ministers to Visit and Help Flood Victims in the State
BS Yeddyurappa | File Image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

Bengaluru, August 21: Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa directed the newly inducted ministers on Tuesday to tour the flood-affected districts extensively for two days from Wednesday and provide relief to the flood victims. On Tuesday, 17 new ministers took oath in Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa-led Karnataka cabinet. Karnataka Cabinet Formation: CM BS Yediyurappa Sends 17 Names to Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala.

The BJP leaders who took oath in the cabinet are Basavaraj Bommai, Jagadish Shettar, V Somanna, C C Patil and Laxman Savadi. Former JDU leader J C Madhuswamy has been inducted as well. Govind Karjol, K S Eshwarappa, R Ashoka, C T Ravi, Suresh Kumar, B Sreeramulu and other ministers took oath on Tuesday in the morning. Karnataka Floods: Crocodile Spotted on Roof Top of a Flood Affected House in Belgaum, Watch Video.

Read the ANI Tweet Below

The death toll in the devastating floods due to incessant rains in parts of Karnataka rose to 82 on Monday. Belagavi was the worst affected district in the state. A total of 19 people lost their lives in the district followed by Kodagu with 13 deaths. However, the situation in the state is improving as rains subsided and floodwaters receded. Karnataka Floods: CM BS Yediyurappa Meets PM Narendra Modi, Seeks 10,000 Crore Fund.

The government of Karnataka also transferred the IMA ponzi scam case to the CBI on Tuesday. Mohammed Mansoor Khan is the prime accused in the multi-crore IMA ponzi scam case and is accused of duping 40,000 investors, mostly Muslims, in the state of Karnataka.