Janjgir-Champa Lok Sabha Constituency in Chhattisgarh Results 2019: BJP Candidate Gujaram Ajgale Elected as MP
Janjgir-Champa Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Raipur, March 23: BJP candidate Gujaram Ajgale was elected as Member of Parliament from Janjgir-Champa Lok Sabha seat in Chhattisgarh. The election for Janjgir-Champa Lok Sabha seat in the state of Chhattisgarh was held in the third phase of the general election on April 23. The main fight is between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress. Kamla Devi Patle of the BJP is the incumbent MP from Janjgir-Champa Lok Sabha seat. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: How Staggered Polling Could Help BJP.

After facing a defeat in the 2018 assembly elections, the BJP decided not to field any sitting lawmaker for Lok Sabha polls in Chhattisgarh. Hence, the BJP declared Gujaram Ajgale as its candidate from Janjgir-Champa Lok Sabha seat. Ajgale will face a tough electoral challenge from Ravi Bhardwaj of the Congress. The process of filing nomination for Janjgir-Champa Lok Sabha election began from March 28. The last day for nominations was April 4. The last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 8. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP registered a thumping victory winning 10 out of 11 seats in Chhattisgarh, whereas the Congress was reduced to one seat. However, in the 2018 assembly election, Congress defeated the BJP winning 68 out of 90 seats.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for third phase:

Issue of Notification March 28
Last date for filing nomination April 4
Scrutiny of nomination April 5
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 8
Date Of Poll April 23
Date of Result May 23

Watch date for third phase polling in Lok Sabha election 2019:

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and will be held over seven phases across the country followed by counting of votes on May 23. Prime Minister Narendra Modi led the BJP is contesting to retain power for the second consecutive time. On the other hand, the opposition led by the Congress is leaving no stone unturned to make a comeback.