Kalanaur (SC) Vidhan Sabha Constituency Election Result 2019 in Haryana: Shakuntla Khatak of Congress Wins MLA Seat in Assembly Polls
Kalanaur (SC) Vidhan Sabha seat in Haryana Assembly Elections 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

The Kalanaur (SC) Vidhan Sabha constituency lies in the Rohtak district of Haryana. Shakuntla Khatak of the Congress won the Kalanaur seat in Haryana Assembly Elections 2019. The results were declared on October 24. Khatak defeated Ramavtar Balmiki of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). This Assembly seat is known for its temples and also hosts several festivals and religious fairs round the year. The Kalanaur seat, reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes, has been a Congress stronghold. The constituency has a total of 1,97,764 registered voters. Voting in Kalanaur took place on October 21.

Shakuntla Khatak of the Congress party had won the 2014 Haryana Assembly Elections on the Kalanaur seat. Khatak will be fighting the 2019 polls as well on a Congress ticket as the party hopes to retain the seat. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has, meanwhile, fielded Ramavtar Balmiki on the seat.

The model code of conduct is in place in both Haryana and Maharashtra. The deadline for filing nominations for the Haryana Vidhan Sabha elections is October 4. The last date for withdrawing nominations is October 7. The ECI will use close to 1.3 lakh Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in Haryana. Haryana Assembly Elections Results 2019 Winners List: Names of Winning Candidates of BJP, Congress, INLD, JJP.

The Assembly polls come just months after the BJP returned to power with a massive victory in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Voting for the 90-seat Haryana Assembly and 288-seat Maharashtra Assembly will take place on October 21 while the results will be out on October 24.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Shakuntla KhatakINC61935
Kashmiri DeviBSP5595
Ramavtar BalmikiBJP51286
Advocate Mukesh SinghIND232
Om Parkash KayatIND179
Baljraj Khasa BhalliINLD1092
KamleshCommunist Party of India (Marxist)NA
Phul SinghLoktanter Suraksha PartyNA
BasantBahujan Mukti PartyNA
MahabirPeoples Party of India (Democratic)NA
Rajender ValmikiJannayak Janta PartyNA
Satyavir SinghBahujan Maha PartyNA
Sunil BidduBhartiya Jan Samman PartyNA