Firozpur Lok Sabha Constituency in Punjab Live Results 2019: Leading Candidates From The Seat, 2014 Winning MP And More
Firozpur Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Image)

The results of the Firozpur Lok Sabha election will be declared today. The counting of votes has begun on the parliamentary seat in Punjab at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting for the Firozpur seat took place in the seventh and final phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Firozpur is a key constituency of the Malwa region of Punjab. The constituency is not reserved for any category, and the seat number of this constituency is 10. Firozpur is located on a border with Pakistan. The constituency comprises of nine assembly seats including Ferozpur City, Rural, Jalalabad, Fazilka and Abohar. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

The main contest in Firozpur constituency was between the Congress and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). The Congress fielded Sher Singh Ghubaya who contested against SAD's Sukhbir Singh Badal. The last date of filing nomination for the seat was April 22. The scrutiny of nominations papers took place on April 30. Meanwhile, the last date of withdrawal of candidature was May 2. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase VII: List of States And Constituencies Voting on May 19.

Here are important details about Firozpur Lok Sabha Constituency:

Issue of Notification April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of candidature May 2
Date of Poll May 19
Date of Result May 23

Watch: Details of Lok Sabha Polls Phase VII

In 2014 Lok Sabha election, Ghubaya defeated Sunil Kumar Jakhar of Congress by over 30,000 votes. Politically, the SAD has a stronghold in Ferozpur. The party had won this seat consecutively for the last five times. The SAD also won this seat consecutively in 1967, 1971 and 1977.

List of States And Constituencies That Will Vote On April 11 In Phase VII:

State (No. of seats voting in this phase) Constituencies
Bihar (8) Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Kurakat, Jahanabad
Jharkhand (3) Rajmahal, Dumka, Godda
Madhya Pradesh (8) Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, Khargone, Khandwa
Punjab (13) Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, Patiala
West Bengal (9) Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar
Chandigarh (1) Chandigarh
Uttar Pradesh (13) Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj
Himachal Pradesh (4) Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur, Shimla

On March 10, the Election Commission of India announced dates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The elections will take place in seven phases, and the results will be declared on May 23. Voting for the Lok Sabha Polls will take place on both Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) as well as VVPAT machines at all polling booths.