Jaipur, October 21: The Congress party on Saturday, October 21, released its first list of 33 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in the state. The grand old party's first list features prominent names such as Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, former deputy CM Sachin Pilot, and senior party leader CP Joshi, among others. The Congress party, aiming for a second consecutive term in Rajasthan, is going all out for the upcoming Vidhan Sabha polls.

On October 9, the Election Commission announced the schedule of elections to five states, including Rajasthan. Back then, Rajiv Kumar, Chief Election Commissioner, said that elections in Rajasthan would be held on November 23; however, the date was later changed to November 25. The term of the Rajasthan assembly is ending on January 14. Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023: Congress Releases First List of 33 Candidates; CM Ashok Gehlot to Contest From Sadarpura, Sachin Pilot From Tonk; Check Names of Other Candidates and Their Constituencies.

Congress Releases First List of Candidates for Rajasthan Election

With the first list of the Congress party out, let us take a look at some key candidates who will be contesting the November 25 poll.

Key Candidates of Congress and Their Constituencies

Ashok Gehlot

Chief Minister and veteran Congress leader Ashok Gehlot has been fielded from the Saradarpur assembly seat, while his former deputy Sachin Pilot has been fielded from the Tonk assembly seat. It must be noted that the grand old part has fielded both Gehlot and Pilot from their incumbent assembly seats of Sardarpura and Tonk, respectively. The 72-year-old politician has been contesting elections from Sardarpura constituency since 1977. A three-time Chief Minister, Ashok Gehlot, would be looking to retain his seat and repeat his 2018 assembly election performance.

Sachin Pilot

Sachi Pilot, who has been at the forefront against CM Ashok Gehlot and the Congress party, has been fielded from the Tonk constituency. The 46-year-old leader, who has served as Deputy Chief Minister of the state and Minister of State (MoS), will be keen not only to win the Tonk assembly seat but also to emerge as the party's Chief Ministerial candidate. In 2018, Pilot won the Tonk seat after he defeated BJP leader Yunus Khan by a margin of over 50,000 votes.

CP Joshi

Senior party leader CP Joshi was also among the key names in the first list of Congress party for upcoming assembly elections in Rajasthan. The 73-year-old politician will be contesting from the Nathdwara assembly seat. The veteran Congress leader, the present Speaker of the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, won the 2018 election by over 16,000 votes. Joshi defeated Mahesh Pratap Singh of the BJP. Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023: From Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Diya Kumari to Jairam Jatav, List of Key Candidates of BJP and Their Constituencies.

Divya Maderna

38-year-old Divya Maderna, who won the Osian constituency in the 2018 assembly elections, has been awarded a ticket by the Congress party once again. Maderna, who faced her first election in 2018, will be keen to repeat her feat. The Congress leader, who had won the previous assembly election, is the daughter of Mahipal Maderna, a former minister convicted in the Bhanwari Devi murder case.

Govind Singh Dotasara

Congress leader Govind Singh Dotasara will be contesting from the Laxmangarh seat or Lachhmangarh assembly seat. Dotasara, currently the party's state unit chief, had won the 2018 assembly election by over 20,000 votes. The Lachhmangarh assembly seat has been a fortress for Govind Singh Dotasara, who has been winning the assembly seat since contesting it for the first time in the 2008 Vidhan Sabha polls.

Bhanwar Singh Bhati

49-year-old Bhanwar Singh Bhati has been fielded from the Kolayat seat. Bhati, who is presently serving as a minister under Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot's government, has been winning the seat since the 2013 assembly election after the Congress party snatched the seat from BJP. Will he manage a hat trick this time, or will the saffron party cause an upset, only time will tell. Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023 Date: EC Changes Date of Polling for Rajasthan Vidhan Sabha Elections, Check New Schedule Here.

The November 25 election in Rajasthan will witness a straight fight between the Congress and the opposition BJP. While the saffron party is eyeing a comeback in the state after its debacle in the 2018 Vidhan Sabha polls, the grand old party will aim for a second consecutive term, keeping in mind the 2024 Lok Sabha elections due next year.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Oct 21, 2023 04:13 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website latestly.com).