The decision on Rajasthan CM-designate has been delayed till tomorrow, as Rahul Gandhi would be meeting central observer KC Venugopal at 10am, before taking the final decision.

Congress' Central Observer KC Venugopal, deployed in Rajasthan to oversee the party's electioneering, will be apprise Rahul Gandhi tomorrow. Venugopal will be flying back to Delhi to meet the Congress president, who will take the final call on who should be the next Chief Minister - Ashok Gehlot or Sachin Pilot.

Top CM contenders Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot have reached Raj Bhavan, along with the delegation of Congress legislators, to submit before the Governor their claim to form next government in the state.

CM probables Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot are likely to fly to Delhi tonight ahead of the key decision by Congress high command on who would lead their government in Rajasthan.

75 legislators-elect of the Congress are backing Ashok Gehlot as the next Chief Minister of Rajasthan, claimed news channel Times Now. This comes in the backdrop of contrary reports earlier in the day, which said two-third of Congress' legislature party (CLP) is favouring Sachin Pilot.

A delegation of Congress leaders are expected to visit the Governor's House at 8pm. Both Sachin Pilot and Ashok Gehlot would accompany the delegation.

The decision on who would be the next Rajasthan Chief Minister is awaited as the party is yet to decide between Sachin Pilot and Ashok Gehlot. According to reports, Congress president Rahul Gandhi is taking inputs from Congress cadres on who should be the next CM via the Shakti App

A high-level meeting of the Congress is taking place in Jaipur. The party is set to announce the name of the CM-Designate shortly.

As per latest reports, the BSP MLA from Udaypurwati in Rajasthan has backed Sachin Pilot as the next Chief Minister. Clamour is now growing for Sachin Pilot to be Rajasthan CM.

Reports say that the name of the Rajasthan Chief Minister-designate will be announced by 5 pm today. 

Who do you want to see as the next CM of Rajasthan? Tell us on this link.

Load More

Jaipur, December 11: Results of the high-stake Rajasthan assembly elections 2018 will be declared today. The Election Commission is scheduled to begin the counting of votes at 8am. Primary contenders in the poll battle are Vasundhara Raje-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the prime Opposition - Congress. Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) also contested with full might in bid to emerge as the kingmaker. Stay tuned for live news updates of early trends and results emerging from across the 199 constituencies.

Polls in the frontier state was held in a single-phase on Friday, with a voter turnout of 74.21 per cent being recorded -- marginally lower than 74.38 per cent registered in 2013. A total of 2, 274 candidates, whose fate were to be decided by Rajasthan's 4.7 crore-strong electorate.

Shortly after the voting concluded, several media outlets - in coordination with research agencies - released the exit polls. The post-election survey overwhelmingly predicted the incumbent BJP's ouster. However, Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje was unfazed, claiming that the pollsters would be proved wrong on December 11.

In the Congress camp, the chorus on who will be the next chief minister has grown stronger over the past four days. The party has so far refrained from projecting its CM candidate -- what experts attribute to the fear of rebellion within the party ranks.

The two most strongest contenders which have emerged within the Congress are: former CM Ashok Gehlot and party's state unit chief Sachin Pilot. Notably, both the leaders were in the polling fray -- with Gehlot contesting from Sardarpur and Pilot from Tonk.

How Rajasthan had voted in 2013

In the last assembly elections, Rajasthan had booted out the incumbent Gehlot-led Congress by delivering a brute mandate in favour of the BJP. The saffron party emerged victorious with over a three-fourth majority. Raje was sworn-in for the second time as the Chief Minister, with support from 163 MLAs. The Congress was reduced to 21 seats. Among others, the National People's Party (NPP) had won 4 seats and the BSP 3.

Party Seats (2013)
Congress 163
BJP 21
Others 9

Over the last 25 years, the electorate in Rajasthan have voted out the ruling party. Will the trend be repeated again? Find out as LatestLY brings to you above the fastest results news and updates.