Read more about the newly elected Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh Narayan Singh here. 

Leader of The House Arun Jaitley, who made his first appearance in the Rajya Sabha today after recovering from his illness, congratulated Harivansh Narayan Singh. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulates Harivansh Narayan Singh on being elected as the Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman. "He has been blessed with the talent of writing. He was also a favourite of former PM Chandra Shekhar ji," says PM Modi.

Congress MP Ghulam Nabi Azad congratulates Harivansh Narayan Singh on being elected as the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha. Azad says, "We hope you will pay attention to the Opposition."

NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh Wins Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Election 2018 with 125 votes. Congress candidate BK Hariprasad got 105 votes.

122 out of 222 Votes recorded in favour of NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh, result yet to be declared.

There was some confusion as some MPs couldn't select their vote properly. The House went for vote again.

Voting underway for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Election.

Tabling of nomination papers for Deputy Chairman post is underway in Rajya Sabha.

The TRS has also confirmed that it would be voting in favour of the NDA.

"We are confident of our win and election result is a foregone conclusion," says NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh.

Load More

New Delhi, August 9: The stage is all set for the Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson Election 2018. While the Bharatiya Janata Party is confident of the numbers with NDA candidate JD(U) MP Harivansh Narayan Singh, the Congress has said that the fight is still on with party lawmaker BK Hariprasad in the fray. Voting will take place at 11 am today in the Upper House. Stay with us for Live updates.

The election is being seen as a big test for the Opposition that has been claiming that it is united against the BJP. Out of the 244-member effective strength of the Upper House, a candidate could win the elections if he secures the support of a majority - 126 lawmakers.

The elections were necessitated as the tenure of incumbent deputy speaker PJ Kurien came to an end. Victory in the polls will be decided on the basis of the votes gathered by the two candidates from the Rajya Sabha MPs.

The opposition camp is claiming support of various parties, including Congress, TMC, DMK, Left parties, SP, BSP, NCP, TDP.

"We have decided to support Congress leader B K Hariprasad," TDP leader Y S Choudhary said. The TDP has six members in the Upper House.

On the other hand, the ruling NDA is intact, with the Shiv Sena and Akali Dal extending their full support to the official nominee, besides also by independent parties like the AIADMK and the TRS.