England Beat New Zealand by Super Over on a Boundary Count to Win CWC 2019; Netizens Hails the First Time WC Winners
England Captain Eoin Morgan lifts the World Cup after victory for England during the Final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 between New Zealand and England at Lord's Cricket Ground on July 14, 2019 in London, England. (Photo Credits: Getty)

The CWC 2019 finals between England and New Zealand was no less than an edge of the seat thriller as results swung like a pendulum on either side at the Lord’s cricket stadium. Everything that could possibly happen in the game of cricket happened! Overthrows, fours, sixes, leaking runs and above all Super-Over. We are sure that the fans from all over the world had their hearts drumming in their throats as until the last ball the result was unknown. But in the end, it was England that walked away with the win by a run and become the new champions of the cricket World Cup. Needless to say that the fans posted several tweets and hailed the new winners. England Are the Champions! Eoin Morgan and Co. Win ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in Thriller Super-Over Final Match Against New Zealand.

It all started when England needed 15 runs from the last over. Ben Stokes who was still batting for the side slammed a six. In the following ball, Stokes hit it to deep mid-wicket and attempted a couple of runs. The ball deflected from the bat ran away for a boundary. Which means the hosts got six runs more. With a couple of players being sent away to the pavilion on the next two balls, the match ran into a Super-Over. England Win Cricket World Cup 2019 | New Zealand vs England Highlights of ICC World Cup 2019 Final Match: Hosts Win on Boundary Count.

England made 15 runs from six balls but unfortunately, Martin Guptill got run out when the team needed two runs from a single delivery. The hosts walked away with the last laugh. The netizens posted several tweets as their reactions, check them out below:

Sunil Chhetri’s tweet.

What a final.

Irfan Pathan.

Another one.

VVS Laxman.


Ben Stokes walked away with the Man of the Match award for his 84.  Kane Williamson walked away with the player of the tournament award. This is the first time that England has won the World Cup.