ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Meet the Winners Who Won the Coveted Trophy
Meet the Past Winners of The Prestigious Title (Photo Credits: Getty Images/File Image)

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is just a few days away and team Australia, the defending champions have already reached England. The team has also started prepping up for the upcoming challenge. The tournament will begin on May 30, 2019, with the match between the hosts England and South Arica at the Oval. Now, ahead of the mega-event let’s go down the memory lane and have a look at the teams who took away the coveted trophy back home. ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule in PDF: Ticket Prices, Dates, Venue Details & Timetable Available for Download Online.

West Indies- 1975-1979

The first two editions of the World Cup were won by West Indies. Both the editions were hosted in England. In 1975, West Indies beat Australia by 17 runs and went on to clinch the trophy. In 1979, West Indies went on to beat England comprehensively by 92 runs to clinch the trophy for the second time. Cricket World Cup History: Winners, Host Nations, Participating Teams and Timeline of All the CWC From 1975 to 2015.

India- 1983

The Indian team started the tournament being the underdogs and not even in the slightest of thoughts one would have pictured Kapil Dev lifting the coveted trophy in the balcony of the Lord’s. But that did happen and the match was written in golden letters as Kapil Dev and men lifted the trophy. The Indian team took on West Indies and beat them by 43 runs to win the glory.

Australia- 1987

This was the first time that India and Pakistan were hosting the World Cup. Both the teams got knocked out from the tournament from the semi-finals and Australia was crowned as the champion. History of Cricket World Cup Trophy: Facts and Evolution of Cricket’s Prestigious Title From Prudential to ICC (View Pics & Video).


Australia hosted the World Cup 1992 and Pakistan was crowned as the champion for the mega-event. Imran Khan and men went on to beat England by 22 runs and thereby clinched the trophy for the first time in the history of cricket.

Sri Lanka- 1996

Now, this World Cup started off on quite a controversial note as the West Indies and Australian team refused to send their players to Sri Lanka following the Central Bank bombing by the Tamil Tigers in January 1996. The World Cup was hosted by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The finals of the tournament saw Sri Lanka beat Australia by seven wickets.

Australia – 1999, 2003, 2007

Australia continued to dominate the three editions of the World Cup. The World Cup in 1999 was held in England where Australia defeated Pakistan by 8 wickets. In 2003, the Kangaroos went on to beat India as South Africa played the hosting nation. In 2007, West Indies hosted the mega-event and Australia once was crowned as champions as beat Sri Lanka by 53 runs.

India- 2011

Now, this was once again a very proud moment for India as MS Dhoni and men beat Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. We still remember the winning shot by MS Dhoni as India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets.

Australia- 2015

For the first time in the history of cricket, New Zealand reached the finals of the World Cup and Australia once again was crowned as champions as they went on to beat Kiwis by seven wickets.