After 74 high-octane matches, IPL 2024 has come to an end, with Kolkata Knight Riders emerging as the champions. Shreyas Iyer and his men were dominant all season and deservedly came out on top in one of the one-sided contests of the season. Batting first, Sunrisers Hyderabad were bowled out for just 113 runs, the lowest score in an IPL final and later, Kolkata Knight Riders chased down the target in just 10.3 overs with Venkatesh Iyer scoring a quickfire half-century. This was KKR's third title win and first after 10 years. The Kolkata Knight Riders also became the third team in IPL history to win more than three titles. IPL 2024 Awards Full List: MVP of the Season, Emerging Player, Orange Cap, Purple Cap and Other Winners.

IPL 2024 will always be remembered by fans as one of the most exciting ever. Batters put up explosive shows with totals in excess of 200 and even 250 on some occasions breached quite easily. While the initial phase of the competition was all about batters putting up big scores at astoundingly high strike rates, bowlers made a comeback in the later half of IPL 2024. IPL 2024 also saw the record of most sixes hit in a single IPL season with the ball being sent over the boundary for a whopping 1260 times.

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the most successful teams in the history of the IPL, winning the title five times each. KKR are second on the list of most trophies won, with the Knight Riders winning their third title. Rajasthan Royals were champions of the inaugural edition with Shane Warne guiding them to the title. Deccan Chargers (now defunct) and Sunrisers Hyderabad have won one title each. IPL 2024 Prize Money: Here’s How Much Winners KKR, Runners-Up SRH, Purple and Orange Cap Holders and Recipients of Other Awards Got.

IPL Winners Season-by-Season

Season Winner Runner-up Win margin
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Won by 3 wickets
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Won by 6 runs
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Won by 22 runs
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Won by 58 runs
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Won by 5 wickets
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Won by 23 runs
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Won by 3 wickets
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Won by 41 runs
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Won by 8 runs
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant Won by 1 run
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Won by 8 wickets
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Won by 1 run
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Won by 5 wickets
2021 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Won by 27 runs
2022 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals Won by 7 Wickets
2023 Chennai Super Kings Gujarat Titans Won by 5 wickets
2024 Kolkata Knight Riders Sunrisers Hyderabad Won by 8 wickets


Royal challengers Bengaluru (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Delhi Capitals (DC) are the teams who are yet to open their accounts. After reaching the finals, Royal Challengers Bengaluru had hard luck three times; they couldn’t make it to the podium. They reached the finals in 2009, 2011, 2016 and were declared runner-ups all three times.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Mar 07, 2022 11:42 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website