Men's T20 World Cup 2020 Qualifiers Schedule Announced: ICC Releases Team Names That Directly Makes to Twenty20 WC in Australia
ICC confirms direct qualification for India for T20 World Cup 2020 (Photo Credits: Twitter)

The International Cricket Council confirmed direct qualification for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup which is to be held in Australia in 2020. The top 10 sides based on the ICC T20 Ranking will be qualified for the mega event in Australia directly. The top eight teams will qualify straight to the Super 12s and the remaining two will feature in the group stage along with six other teams for the ICC T20I World Cup Qualifier in 2019. Four teams from the group stage will proceed to the Super 12s. ICC Renames World T20 Championships as T20 World Cup 2020.

Pakistan, India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Afghanistan will start their campaign directly in the Super 12s. Whereas, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will have to go through the group stage with six other teams. Needless to say Lasith Malinga is quite unhappy for not making it to the Super 12s.

“It is a bit disappointing that we have not been able to ensure a direct Super 12s berth but I’m confident that we will do well in the tournament. Having played three finals and winning once, it is natural that everyone expected us to finish in the top-eight but we have to take the opportunity in the extra matches of the group stage and prepare well for the knock-out matches,” said Sri Lankan skipper Lasith Malinga to the official website of the International Cricket Council. Shakib Al Hasan is quite confident that the team will get through the group stage.