Rishabh Pant’s Faux Pas Behind Stumps in IND vs BAN 2nd T20I: Indian Keeper Catches Ball Before It Crosses Stumps; Twitter Toasts Him As Stumping Mistake Video Goes Viral
Rishabh Pant (Photo Credits: Twitter)

Rishabh Pant just can’t get things right at the moment. The young wicket-keeper, who backed by the team management and selectors, has been continuously trolled by netizens for being picked ahead of Sanju Samson despite his disastrous from both with the bat and behind the stumps. And it wasn’t any different at Rajkot after Pant forgot one of the most basic rules of wicket-keeping – to catch the ball behind the stumps. Pant in his excitement may have missed the rule and caught the ball before it had crossed the stumps. Not only was Das given not out but it was also signalled a “No Ball” and a free-hit was awarded to Bangladesh, with Das hitting a boundary of the free-hit. India Vs Bangladesh, Live Cricket Score 2nd T20I Match.

Pant, 21, stumped Liton Das in the sixth over after Yuzvendra Chahal bamboozled the Bangladeshi opener with a leg break and left Das stranded outside his own crease. It was an easy opportunity and Pant obliged with the easiest of all stumpings but replays showed he had caught the ball ahead of the stumps and Das was given not-out by the third umpire. The MCC Law – Cricket’s rule book – clearly states, “The WK shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler touches the bat or person of the striker or passes the wicket at the striker’s end or striker attempts a run.”

Pant's Off Day Behind Wickets

Rishabh Pant Makes Glaring Stumping Mistake

The left-handed wicket-keeper batsmen was as a reason heavily trolled on social media with many picking him on for the glaring mistake in an international cricket match. This, however, hasn’t happened for the first time in cricket nor was it the first instance where an Indian wicket-keeper was involved. Robin Uthappa suffered a similar embarrassment with Kolkata Knight Riders during the 2014 Indian Premier League (IPL) final against Kings XI Punjab.

MS Dhoni Be Like

Kohli the keeper is Better Than Rishabh Pant

Indian Fans Visiting Rishabh Pant

Dhoni Fans to Pant

Piche sei Pakdo

Dhoni vs Rishabh Pant

Dhoni Sir Kindly Teach Pant

Rishabh Pant's Day?

Rishabh Pant Behind the Stumps


Wicket-keepers Before Dhoni

Pant Behind Stumps

Rishabh Pant Fans Now

BCCI Looking for Dhoni

Pant in IPL vs Pant for India

Pant later went on to redeem himself with the run-out of Das, whose stumping he had missed earlier. Incidentally, the bowler again was Chahal and it was in his very next over following the stumping incident. Das, who looked during his 21-ball stay at the crease, had to go back after stitching a fine 60-run partnership with opening partner Mohammad Naim.