Kerala Elections: Pinarayi Vijayan Sworn In For Second Term, Appoints New Health Minister

INDIA Team Latestly|

Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn in as Kerala Chief Minister for a second time on May 20. He guided the CPM-led Left Democratic Front government to a historic second successive term in the April-May election. Vijayan was sworn-in by Governor Arif Mohammad Khan in a brief ceremony conducted in accordance with Covid-19 protocols. The ceremony itself was only allowed after the Kerala High Court gave its permission on May 19. "Took the oaths of office and secrecy as Chief Minister of Kerala. Together let us realise a people's alternative and build a Nava Keralam!" Vijayan tweeted. Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted, "Congratulations to Shri Pinarayi Vijayanji on taking oath as Chief Minister and commencing his second term in office.” Pinarayi Vijayan will head an all-new 20-member cabinet - including 12 from the CPM & four from the CPI, with no carry-over, apart from himself. The new team has three women, Dr R Bindu, Chinchu Rani & Veena George, one more than last time & a record number for any Kerala government. CPM's Veena George will be the first woman journalist-politician to be a Kerala minister. She is expected to get the Health portfolio held by KK Shailaja. Watch the video to know more.

City Petrol Diesel
New Delhi 96.41 87.28
Kolkata 96.34 90.12
Mumbai 102.58 94.70
Chennai 97.69 91.92
View all
Company Price Change Value
Axis Banks 1050.00 50.00 533.00
Reliance 1050.00 33.00 533.00
Samsung 1050.00 33.00 533.00
Currency Price Change
USD 73.6025 0.16
GBP 103.4500 -0.16
EUR 89.2500 -0.28