Sri Lanka's ruling Rajapaksa brothers have secured a two-third majority in parliamentary elections. Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa's Sri Lanka Podujana Party (SLPP) won 145 seats and can also count on the support of at least five allies in the 225-member legislature, according to final results. According to an AFP report, the brothers Rajapaksa and Gotabaya needed to secure a super-majority to carry out their promised roll-back of constitutional changes. Prime Minister Narendra Modi on August 6 congratulated his Sri Lankan counterpart Mahinda Rajapaksa on his party's performance in the parliamentary elections. Sri Lanka's powerful Rajapaksa family-run Sri Lanka People's Party (SLPP) won in the country’s twice-postponed parliamentary election. PM Modi noted that the incoming results of the elections indicate an impressive electoral performance by the SLPP, and conveyed his congratulations and best wishes to Rajapaksa, the statement said. M Rajapaksa also thanked PM Modi on Twitter for the congratulatory phone call.