20 May, 23:34 (IST)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) wrote to the Election Commission alleging that Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Uddhav Thackeray violated the model code of conduct by holding a press conference as voting for the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections was underway in Mumbai. At around 5 pm, Thackeray spoke to reporters and alleged that the polling process was facing delays at several places in Mumbai.

20 May, 22:35 (IST)

Voting for the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 concluded today, May 20, across all 49 parliamentary constituencies spanning eight States and Union Territories and recorded a voter turnout of 57.51 per cent. West Bengal recorded the highest voter turnout (73 per cent), followed by Ladakh (67.15 per cent), Jharkhand (63.00 per cent), Odisha (60.72 per cent), Uttar Pradesh (57.79 per cent), Jammu and Kashmir (54.67 per cent), Bihar (52.60 per cent) and Maharashtra (49.01 per cent).

20 May, 20:50 (IST)

Home Minister Amit Shah today, May 20, said that PM Narendra Modi has got an absolute majority of 270 seats in just four phases of Lok Sabha Elections 2024. "The fifth, sixth, seventh phase will make PM Modi cross 400," he added.Watch Video:

20 May, 19:24 (IST)

Amid the ongoing Lok Sabha elections, BJP National President JP Nadda was seen campaigning for party candidate in Delhi. A video shared by news agency ANI shows JP Nadda campaigning for Bansuri Swaraj, party candidate from New Delhi constituency in Malviya Nagar.Watch Video:

20 May, 18:00 (IST)

S Chockalingam, Chief Electoral Officer of Maharashtra said that voting for the 5th phase of Lok Sabha polls will be on till 6 pm. "So whoever has come in the queue before 6 pm will be allowed to vote. We appeal to everyone to get in the queue before the 6 pm," he added.We Appeal to Everyone To Get in the Queue Before the 6 PM

20 May, 17:58 (IST)

Home Minister Amit Shah today, May 20, took a dig at the Congress party and its leader Rahul Gandhi. Shah said that after the ongoing general elections, the Wayanad MP has to launch a "Congress Dhundho Yatra" to "find" the party.

20 May, 16:50 (IST)

As per the data shared by the Election Commission, the fifth round of the Lok Sabha elections for 49 parliamentary constituencies saw a cumulative voter turnout of 47.53 per cent till 3 pm. According to the poll body, Ladakh recorded the highest voter turnout (61.26 per cent) followed by West Bengal (62.72 per cent), Jharkhand (53.90 per cent), Uttar Pradesh (47.55 per cent), Odisha (48.95 per cent), Jammu and Kashmir (44.90 per cent), Bihar (45.33 per cent) and Maharashtra (38.77 per cent).

20 May, 15:55 (IST)

In an unfortunate incident in Chhattisgarh, 15 people died after a pick-up vehicle overturned near the Kawardha area. Eight people have been injured in the incident. Abhishek Pallav, Kawardha SP, said the injured have been shifted to the hospital for treatment.

20 May, 14:14 (IST)

In the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, a voter turnout of 36.73% has been recorded by 1 pm. Notable figures include Ladakh at 52.02% and West Bengal at 48.41%, while Maharashtra lags at 27.78%. Other key states like Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand reported turnouts of 39.55% and 41.89%, respectively.Voter Turnout Update

20 May, 12:47 (IST)

Following the tragic death of Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi in a helicopter crash, world leaders offered their condolences on Monday to Raisi, the Iranian Foreign Minister and other officials who were on board. Pakistani Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif announced that the country will observe a one-day of mourning and the flag will fly at half mast as a mark of respect for President Raisi and his companions.

Load More

New Delhi, May 20: The fifth stage of the Lok Sabha election 2024 will take place today, covering 49 constituencies across eight states and Union territories. Polling stations will open at 7 am and close at 6 pm on Monday.

From Rahul Gandhi to Smriti Irani, from Karan Bhushan Singh to Chirag Paswan; many big names will have their fate at stake during the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha polls 2024. Other big names such as Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Piyush Goyal, Ujjwal Nikam, Jammu and Kashmir National Conference chief Omar Abdullah, and Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Rohini Acharya will also be looking for electoral success. Ebrahim Raisi Helicopter Crash: Three Rescue Workers Go Missing While Searching for Crashed Chopper Carrying Iranian President, Other Officials.

A helicopter carrying Iranian president Ebrahim Raisi has crashed in east Azerbaijan, according to several media reports on Sunday. Rescuers are trying to reach the site of the "incident", state television reported. There was no immediate elaboration on what happened to the helicopter. Ebrahim Raisi Dead or Alive? Search Operation Continues After Iran's Helicopter Crashed in Azerbaijan, Reports Say Iranian President Feared Dead.

Iran has confirmed that the president was onboard the chopper along with foreign minister Hossein Amir Abdollahian as well as two senior east Azerbaijan leaders.

The Supreme Court is slated to hear on Monday a public interest litigation (PIL) against the three criminal laws replacing the IPC, CrPC and Evidence Act.

As per the cause list published on the apex court's website, a vacation bench of Justices Bela M Trivedi and Pankaj Mithal will hear the matter on May 20.