Jaipur, December 3: BJP MP from Rajsamand, Diya Kumari, scripted a landslide victory in the Rajasthan Assembly elections on Sunday as she defeated her nearest rival in Vidyadhar Nagar by 71,368 votes, the biggest victory margin in the state this time. The victory of the Jaipur princess is seen as a sign of the growing popularity of the BJP in Rajasthan.

While Diya Kumari secured 1,58,516 votes, Congress' Sitaram Agarwal finished a distant second with 89,780 votes. Diya Kumari credited the people of Vidyadhar Nagar for her massive victory. Rajasthan Assembly Election Results 2023: BJP MP and CM Contender Diya Kumari Wins From Vidhyadhar Nagar Seat.

"This victory is not just mine, but of all the residents of Vidyadhar Nagar... every brother, sister and daughter, and all the party workers who worked tirelessly to provide me with this golden opportunity to serve the people of this constituency. I am committed to serve the people of Vidyadhar Nagar, and will make every possible effort for the development of the area," she said.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Dec 03, 2023 10:33 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website latestly.com).