Republic Day 2020: Shaurya Chakra Awarded to Lt Col Jyoti Lama, Major KB Singh, Naib Subedar N Singh, Naik S Kumar and Sepoy K Oraon
Shaurya Chakra is awarded by the President | (Photo Credits: PIB)

New Delhi, January 25: Ahead of Republic Day 2020, the government has released the list of Shaurya Chakra awardees this year. The coveted honour, conferred upon armed forces personnel or civilians who risk their lives and exhibit unparalleled courage against terrorists, was awarded this year to Lieutenant Colonel Jyoti Lama, Major KB Singh, Naib Subedar N Singh, Naik S Kumar and Sepoy Karmdeo Oraon. Brazil President Jair Bolsonaro, Chief Guest of Republic Day, Accorded Ceremonial Welcome at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Lt Col Jyoti Lama was rewarded for killing two terrorists in an operation in Manipur in July last year. He is also credited for apprehending fourteen hardcore terrorists in his area of operation.

Sepoy Karmdeo Oraon, another valorous member of the Indian Army, was awarded Shaurya Chakra for an operation on Line of Control where he was hit by bullet on his bulletproof patka after which he lobbed nine grenades and killed two terrorists while thwarting the attack by four terrorists.

Naib Subedar Sombir of Jat Regiment was awarded Shaurya Chakra posthumously for killing foreign terrorist in operation in Jammu & Kashmir. In total, the government has conferred the honour upon five Army personnel.

Update by ANI

The Shaurya Chakra is the third most coveted peacetime honour conferred upon a military personnel or a civilian by the President of India. In terms of precedence, the award comes next only to the the Ashoka Chakra and the Kirti Chakra. While the list of awardees is announced ahead of Republic Day, the badge of honour is conferred upon them at an event held later at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.