Counting of votes for Andaman and Nicobar has ended. Thank you for staying with LatestLY. 

INC's Kuldeep Rai Sharma won by a margin of 1407 votes after defeating BJP candidate Vishal Jolly. 

In a terrific comeback, INC's Kuldeep Rai Sharma won the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in Andaman and Nicobar. BJP candidate Vishal Jolly trails after initially leading. 

INC and BJP candidates Kuldeep Rai Sharma and BJP's Vishal Jolly are in a neck and neck race with Sharma having the upper hand. The total vote percentage of Sharma is 46 percent and Jolly is 45.3 percent. 

BJP's Vishal Jolly leads with 60% votes, while Congress' Kuldeep Rai Sharma trails with a distant 30.3 %.

BJP's Vishal Jolly leads with a margin of 3404 votes as Congress' Kuldeep Rai Sharma trails. 

EC reports that BJP candidate Vishal Jolly is leading in Andaman and Nicobar.

Counting of votes in Andaman and Nicobar have commenced at 8 am today. This is the only union territory which is a Lok Sabha constituency. The candidates contest for one seat to the Lok Sabha.  

The Lok Sabha Election results for Andaman and Nicobar Islands and the rest of Indian states will be declared today on May 23, 2019. The union territory went into polling on April 11, 2019, the first phase of the general elections. The counting of votes for Andaman and Nicobar Islands will begin at 8 am. The UT is the only Lok Sabha constituency and the number of seat here is one. The elections here will be contested by AITC (All India Trinamool Congress), BJP, INC and BSP. Catch all the live updates for Andaman and Nicobar Islands election results and the list of winners here. Get all the live updates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019, results and winner list here.

The UT is represented under the Andaman and Nicobar parliamentary constituency. A total of 15 members from these political parties are contesting for the elections from Andaman and Nicobar Islands. A total of 406 polling centres had been set up in the UT. It registered a 70.67 percent voter turnout.

BJP and Congress fielded Vishal Jolly and Kuldeep Rai Sharma respectively. Apart from these two national parties, AAP and TMC have also fielded their own candidates.

Sanjay Meshack contested on behalf of AAP and Aayan Mandal represented AITC. Prakash Minj was BSP’s candidate this year.

Ex chairperson of South Andaman Zilla Parishad Minoty Biswas is also contesting as an independent candidate from Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Biswas, who is a Bengali candidate, is projected to gain some edge in the elections due to the Bengali population in the UT.

Back in 2014, the contest was between BJP’s Bishnu Pada Ray and Kuldeep Rai Shama, with the former winning with a margin of over 7,000 votes. Formerly a Congress stronghold, Andaman and Nicobar was wrested out of the party hands in 2009 when Ray first won.