Barpeta Lok Sabha Constituency in Assam: Leading Candidates From The Seat, 2014 Winning MP And More
Barpeta Lok Sabha Constituency in Assam (Photo Credits: File Image)

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: The results of the Barpeta Lok Sabha Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Parliamentary seat in Assam at 8:00 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Barpeta seat in the third phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Barpeta Lok Sabha seat in Assam.

The Barpeta parliamentary constituency is one of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies representative of Assam in the Lower House of Parliament. Barpeta is located in the western parts of Assam. Ten assembly segments comprise the Lok Sabha constituency of Barpeta, none of them being reserved for the marginalised sections of society. According to the release schedule by the Election Commission of India (ECI), polling will take place in the third phase of the General Elections, on April 23, 2019. Dibrugarh Lok Sabha Constituency in Assam. 

The Congress has given the ticket to Abdul Khaleque, while the Trinamool has fielded Ashahak Ali Dewan from Barpeta Lok Sabha constituency.  Kumar Deepak Das is contesting on Asom Gana Parishad's ticket. As per ECI, the last date for filling the nominations was April 4, 2019. Besides, the candidature names were withdrawn till April 8, and the counting of votes as decided will be held on May 23, 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule. 

Watch Video: Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Schedule

The 2014 Lok Sabha Election in Barpeta was won by Siraj Uddin Ajmal, member of Assam United Democratic Front (AUDF). He achieved 3,94,702 votes, and the runner up for the election was Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) member, Chandra Mohan Patowary, who bagged about 3,52,361 votes. Siraj Uddin Ajmal is also the current sitting member of parliament of the Barpeta constituency.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will take place from April 11 to May 23, 2019, across the nation. ECI declared the voting would take place in seven phases between April 11 to May 19. Again, the final counting and declaration of Lok Sabha 2019 results are scheduled on May 23.

O.S.N. Candidate Party EVM Votes Postal Votes Total Votes % of Votes
1Abdul KhalequeIndian National Congress643441173264517344.23
2Ashahak Ali DewanAll India Trinamool Congress2040561204661.4
3Kumar Deepak DasAsom Gana Parishad501319354750486634.61
4Rafiqul IslamAll India United Democratic Front24836030724866717.05
5Aroon BarooaPurvanchal Janta Party (Secular)342419436180.25
7Saniara ParbinVoters Party International33914634370.24
8Pranabjyoti Das RajbonshiNational People's Party23907224620.17
9Bhadreswar BarmanNational Republican Congress21645022140.15
10Matiar RahmanThe National Road Map Party of India3970339730.27
11Rejaul KarimRepublican Party of India (A)3345533500.23
12Santanu MukherjeeBharatiya Gana Parishad527912954080.37
13Arfan AliIndependent27801927990.19
14NOTANone of the Above96488697340.67
Total 145223863111458549