Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Phase I Polling Concludes, Over 53 Percent Voters Exercise Franchise
Bihar First Phase Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Image used for representative purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLy)

Patna, April 10: Voting for the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 is taking place in four constituencies of Bihar today. Polling began for the Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada and Jamui Parliamentary seats on Thursday, April 11, at 7 am. Security has been tightened in all the four constituencies that went to polls today, where 44 candidates are testing their fate. Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Constituency Wise Dates Of Voting And Results For General Elections. '

Polling in 15 Assembly in Bihar closes. Polling for Phase 1 Lok Sabha Elections 2019 concluded at 6 pm. 53% voting was registered. Voting in Aurangabad, Gaya, Jamui and Nawada were 49.85, 56, 54 and 52.50 per cent respectively. According to CNN Hindi report, bombs were recovered near a voting centre in Gaya, two tiffin bombs were also found in Aurangabad.

A total of 55,07,053 voters would be exercising their voting rights in 7,486 polling stations in the first phase in these four constituencies in Bihar. The state also has 45,000 service voters in the first phase. Besides live webcast of polling stations at 350 booths would be done. Helicopters and air ambulances have been pressed into the service to deal with any emergency.

Here's Phase 1 Highlights:

According to the ECI website, the major parties contesting in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 for these four seats include BJP, JD(U), HAM(S), BSP, LJP, RLSP and NCP. All the four constituencies are considered backwards and get financial assistance under Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase I: List of States And Constituencies Voting On April 11

Lok Sabha Constituencies Going for Polls in Phase 1 With Details:

Aurangabad (36) Lok Sabha Seat 2014 Results:

Winning MP: Susheel Kumar Singh (BJP)

Losing Candidate: Nikhil Kumar (INC)

2019 Candidates:

BJP: Susheel Kumar Singh

HAM(S): Upendra Kushwaha

BSP: Naresh Yadav

Gaya_SC (37) Lok Sabha Seat 2014 Results:

Winning MP: Hari Manjhi (JDU)

Losing Candidate: Ramji Manjhi (RJD)

2019 Candidates:

JDU: Vijay Kumar Manjhi

HAM(S): Jitin Ram Manjhi

BSP: Dilip Kumar

Nawada (39) Lok Sabha Seat 2014 Results:

Winning MP: Giriraj Singh (BJP)

Losing Candidate: Raj Ballabh Prasad (JDU)

2019 Candidates:

LJP: Chandan Kumar

RJD: Vibha Devi

RSP: Vishnu Dev Yadav

NCP: Navin Kumar

Jamui_SC (40) Lok Sabha Seat 2014 Results:

Winning MP: Chirag Paswan (LJP)

Losing Candidate: Sudhansu Shekhar Bhaskar (JDU)

2019 Candidates:

LJP: Chirag Paswan

RLSP: Bhudev Choudhary

BSP: Upendra Ravidas

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 1: Schedule, Date, States And Constituencies

Voting for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will take place in seven phases. While the first phase of voting is being held today, the last phase of voting will take place on May 19. In Bihar, voting will take place in all the seven phases. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.