70.01% Voter Turnout Recorded Till 5 Pm in Maheshtala Assembly By-Poll in West Bengal

69% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm in Shahkot assembly by-election in Punjab

40.37% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm in Palghar Lok Sabha bypoll in Maharashtra

41 per cent voter turnout has been recorded in Karnataka's RR Nagar seat till 3 pm. The seat went to polls today as the Election Commission had deferred the polling slated in the constituency on May 12, due to the seizure of over 9,000 fake voter ID cards.

The Samajwadi Party has sought re-polling in EVM snag-hit booths of Kairana and Noorpur. "We have demanded the EC to conduct re-polling in places where more than 1 and a half hours were wasted, and extra time after 6 pm for voters in places where less time was wasted so that they can vote," said senior SP leader Ram Gopal Yadav, who led a multi-party delegation to complaint the Election Commission against the "faulty EVMS".

Responding to the spree of EVM glitches reported from polling booths of Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, where the bypolls are currently underway, the Election Commission claimed the electronic voting machines have malfunctioned due to 'severe heat'. Steps are being taken to replace the faulty EVMs, the EC said. Read full report.

34 per cent voting has been recorded till 1 pm in Karnataka's Rajarajeshwari Nagar constituency, also referred to as RR Nagar. Meanwhile, 19.2 per cent polling has been registered in Maharashtra's Palghar. 

Voting has been suspended in 35 polling booths of Palghar due to faulty electronic voting machines. The Shiv Sena has put the onus on the ruling BJP, claiming their attempt to manipulate the EVMs led to the machines developing technical snag. "We want the Election Commission to conduct an inquiry into the case," said Sena MP Sanjay Raut.

31 per cent voting recorded till 11 am in Shahkot assembly by-election in Punjab. The seat witnesses a trilateral contest between the ruling Congress, Shiromani Akali Dal and the Aam Aadmi Party.

Senior Samajwadi Party leader Rajendra Choudhary claimed malfunctioning EVMs have been detected in over 140 polling booths in Noorpur, where the assembly bypoll is currently underway.

Load More

New Delhi, May 28: By-elections in 14 seats -- 10 Lok Sabha constituencies and 4 assembly segments -- is currently underway. The seats which went into the bypolls are scattered across 10 states, which makes pollsters call it as a precursor to the general elections slated to be held next year. Stay tuned for the live updates related to the bypolls.

The four Lok Sabha seats being contested are Uttar Pradesh's Kairana, Maharashtra's Palghar and Bhandara-Gondia, and the sole parliamentary constituency of Nagaland.

The bypoll also feature a contest on 10 assembly segments -- Maharashtra's Kalus-Padegaon, Bihar's Jokihat, Jharkhand's Gamia and Silli, Karnataka's Rajarajeshwari Nagar, Kerala's Chikmagalur, Meghalaya's Ampati, UP's Noorpur, Punjab's Shahkot, Uttarakhand's Tharali (SC) and West Bengal's Maheshtala.

The by-elections featured a show of Opposition unity in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh. In UP, the communally sensitive Kairana seat is being contested between Mriganka Singh, daughter of deceased lawmaker Hukum Singh, against Tabassum Hasan, wife of a former Samajwadi Party MP.

Tabassum is contesting the elections on RLD ticket. Her candidature has been backed by the BSP, SP and the Congress.

In Maharashtra, the fight in Palghar is a direct contest between the Shiv Sena and BJP. Though the Congress is in fray, the party is expected to cause a negligible electoral impact. In Bhandara-Gondia, the Shiv Sena and Congress has pulled out from the bypoll race, turning the electoral battle a direct contest between BJP's Hemant Patle and NCP's Madhukar Kukde. The results of all 14 seats will be declared on Thursday.