Of the 191 panchayat samiti seats, the Congress has emerged winner in over 100 seats till the last count, whereas, the Akali Dal has bagged 12 seats.

Out of 191 Block Samiti seat, voting was held for 187 seats. Counting is taking place in 11 places across the city. The counting will take place in 14 rounds.

Congress has won 60 Block Samiti seats, while the Shiromani Akali Dal managed to bag 15 seats.

Congress candidate Ravina has won Jalandhar Zone No-21 Block Samiti

Congress candidate wins Nizamadipur Block Samiti from Adampur

Shiromani Akali Dal candidate has won Taunsa Block Samiti From Balachaur.

The Congress has won two Block Samiti seats, while the Shiromani Akali Dal bagged only one seat

Congress has won Narsiwal Block Samiti seat from Kapurthala

Congress candidate has won Block Samiti seat from Phagwara

Congress candidate Kirandeep Kaur has won Pali Chiki Block Samiti from Nawanshahr

Load More

Jalandhar, September 22: The Jalandhar Zilla Parishad and Panchayat Samiti Elections 2018 Results will be declared today, September 22. The counting of votes is set to begin at 8 am and the results are expected to be out by this evening. Voting for the Punjab rural body elections took place on Wednesday, September 19. Stay with us for Live updates on the counting of votes for the Jalandhar rural body polls. There are 83 Zila Parishad seats and 672 Panchayat Samiti seats in Jalandhar.

Repolling was held was held at 28 booths across eight districts including Amritsar and Tarn Taran because of clashes between the Congress and the Shiromani Akali Dal workers. Former chief minister Parkash Singh Badal alleged that a large number of Congress workers, brandishing swords, were involved in booth capturing. Meanwhile, counting is underway for Punjab Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti Elections 2018 across 21 other districts including Amritsar, Ludhiana and Patiala too.

Gurdaspur recorded the lowest voter turn-out with 47 percent voters cast their votes, whereas Mansa topped with 71 percent voter turnout. A total voting percentage was recorded at 58 percent. The polling took place on 354 Zila Parishad seats and 2,900 panchayat seats. 

The polls witnessed a triangular contest between the ruling Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) combine.There are a total of 1,27,87,395 registered voters in Punjab, comprising 60,99,053 women and 97 third-gender voters.