Jammu And Kashmir, Ladakh Become India's Two New Union Territories Following Abrogation of Article 370; Here's How New Map of Former State Will Look After Bifurcation
Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh on Map after bifurcation into UTs. Image Used For Representational Purpose Only. (Photo Credits: File Image)

Srinagar, August 5: Nearly three months after the abrogation of certain provisions of Article 370 of the Indian Constitution, the state of Jammu and Kashmir will now be two separate union territories. Jammu and Kashmir is now a union territory with a legislature and Ladakh without a legislature. With the bifurcation, the map of India will now have a slightly different look at the top. Article 370 Abrogated From Jammu and Kashmir: Home Minister Amit Shah Proposes Scrapping of the Article, What Does the Article State?

Home Minister Amit Shah on August 5 proposed the Bill in the Rajya Sabha amid ruckus and protests by the Opposition leaders especially Ghulam Nabi Azad and TMC MP Derek O'Brien who requested for more time for the MPs to read the Bill. However, Shah called the Bill "historic" and BJP MP Bhupendra Yadav added that the Bill was to forge further unity in India. Amit Shah Calls Bill Scrapping Article 370 Historic.

However, former chief ministers of Jammu and Kashmir, PDP's Mehbooba Mufti and National Conference leader Omar Abdullah criticised the government's move in stringent words. While Mufti called the Bill "murder of democracy", Abdullah said in his statement that "total betrayal of the trust of people of Jammu and Kashmir by the Indian government." India to Get Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh as New Union Territories: Here is The List With Names of Indian States and UTs After J&K Bifurcation.

Before the presentation of the Bill in the Parliament, the state of Jammu and Kashmir saw a lot of movement by the security forces over the past week, with increased deployment. The government also cancelled the Amarnath Yatra and told the devotees and pilgrims to return back as soon as possible. On Sunday night, Section 144 of the CrPC and curfew was imposed in Srinagar and surrounding districts. The restrictions will be in force for coming days as well, said reports.