58.94% voter turnout recorded in State, Kolhapur records highest voter turnout with 73.33%

55.65% voter turnout recorded till 7 PM, Kolhapur records highest voter turnout with 69.04%

55.93% voter turnout recorded till 6 PM, Kolhapur records highest voter turnout with 69.04%

44% poll percentage recorded in Mumbai City district till 5 pm. #MaharashtraAssemblyElections

Maharashtra Assembly Polls: 54.53% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm for the assembly elections in the state.

Salman Khan cast vote at a polling vote in Bandra (West), Mumbai. #MaharashtraAssemblyPolls.

Maharashtra Assembly Polls: 43.78% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm in Maharashtra.

According to the Election Commission, 35 percent voter turnout was recorded in Mumbai district till 3 pm.

Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan and his wife Gauri Khan arrived to cast their votes in Mumbai's Bandra west locality.

Sushma Satpute, Election Commission officer at Worli: There was some issue in an electronic voting machine (EVM) at polling booth number 62 of Worli Assembly constituency but the machine has been replaced and voting is going on.

Load More

Mumbai, October 21: Polling for the Maharashtra assembly elections began at 7 am on Monday. The voting will continue till 6 pm today. The results will be announced after counting of votes on Thursday, October 24. The term of 13th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly ends on November 9. According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), a total of 95,473 polling booths has been set up across the state. Stay with LatestLY to catch the live news updates on Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha Elections 2019.

Maharashtra has 8.9 crore registered voters, which includes 4.6 crore men, 4.2 crore women and 2,634 voters are third-gender. The polls in the state will be interesting as this is the first time that a member from Thackeray family is contesting elections. Uddhav Thackeray's son Aaditya Thackeray is contesting from Worli seat. Who Will Win Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019? Here's What ABP News Opinion Poll Results Predict.

The 2019 Maharashtra Assembly Elections is a battle between two alliance, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena on one hand, while Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on the other hand. The BJP-Sena alliance also include smaller parties like the Republican Party of India (A), Rashtriya Samaj Paksha, Rayat Kranti Sanghatana, and Shiv Sangram. Similarly, the Congress-NCP alliance also includes Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA), Peasants and Workers Party, People's Republican Party, Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana and the Samajwadi Party.

In the last Assembly polls in Maharashtra in 2014, the BJP won 122 seats followed by the Shiv Sena with 63, while the Congress managed 42 seats and NCP 41. Three seats went to the BVA, three to Peasants and Workers Party of India, Two AIMIM and one each to the CPI(M), MNS, Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh, Rashtriya Samaj Paksha and Samajwadi Party. Seven Independents were also elected.