MNF Defeats Congress After 10 Years, Secure 26 Seats. Ruling Congress manages to win only 5 seats, which was the strength of MNF in 2013. While BJP managed to clinch one seat, others have secured 8 seats. Mizoram Assembly Elections results. | Image Courtesy:
Mizoram Assembly Elections results. | Image Courtesy:

MNF's K Pachhunga Wins Lunglei South Seat. Beats Congress's R Lalninthara by 2441 votes.

MNF Leads in Mizoram, Congress Trails.

Incumbent CM Lal Thanhawla has lost from bith erchhip and Champhai South

Incumbent CM Lal Thanhawla is trailing from Serchhip, while, independent candidate Lalduhoma leading from the constituency.

The MNF has won seven seats in Mizoram, while one seat bagged by an Independent candidate.

MNF Candidate Ramthanmawia has won form East Tuipui

CM Lal Thanhawla has lost from Champhai South seat.

Mizoram Congress spokesperson Prof Maliana blamed Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) for the defeat of the grand old party.

The MNF is leading in 27 seats, the ruling Congress is ahead only on nine seat. Meanwhile, the BJP has an upper hand in one seat.

Load More

Aizwal, December 11: The counting of votes for the 40-seat Mizoram legislative assembly will begin today at 8 am. The Election Commission (EC) will declare results on the same day by evening. The assembly elections in the state were held on November 28 in a single phase. A total of 1,164 polling booths were set across the state. The main contest will be between the ruling Congress and the Mizo National Front (MNF). The grand old party is ruling the state since 2008, and incumbent Chief Minister Lal Thanhawala will be eyeing the third consecutive term as the CM.

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will also try to make inroads in the north-eastern state. The saffron party till now have not won a single seat in Mizoram since last five assembly elections. In the 2013 elections, the Congress won 34 seats, while the MNF managed to get only five seats. The remaining seat us won by Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC). In terms of vote share, the grand old party received 44.6 percent votes, while 28.7 percent votes were polled to the MNF. Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018: CM Lal Thanhawla Writes to PM Modi, Seeks Chief Electoral Officer's Removal.

The Model Code of Conduct (MCC) was imposed in Mizoram immediately after the EC declared the polling date. The state has 87 percent population of Christians. Meanwhile, various exit polls predicted a fractured mandate in the state. The MNF is expected to gain lead in the elections. The Congress is expected to win only 8-12 seats, whereas the MNF is predicted to win 16-22 seats. Meanwhile, the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) is likely to get 8-12 seats.

State updated with the LatestLY for live updates of election results.