PAC Election 2018 in Rajya Sabha: TDP's CM Ramesh Wins With Massive Show of Opposition Unity
TDP MP CM Ramesh wins PAC elections in Rajya Sabha (Photo Credits: ANI/File)

New Delhi, August 6: In a massive show of opposition unity, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) MP CM Ramesh has won Public Accounts Committee (PAC) election in Rajya Sabha. National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidates are way behind Ramesh in the election. In Rajya Sabha NDA has 89 members, out of which Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alone has 73 members. While the United Progressive (UPA) has the strength of 57 members, in which 50 members belong to the Congress.

TDP, which recently had broken alliance with the NDA, has six members in the upper house. The anti-BJP parties which includes Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) have four members each, while Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and CPM have three and fives members respectively. Samajwadi Party and Trinamool Congress have the strength of 13 members each.

The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) is a committee of selected members of parliament, constituted by the parliament of India, for the auditing the revenue and the expenditure of the Government of India. The PAC is formed every year with a strength of not more than 22 members, of which 15 are from Lok Sabha, and seven from Rajya Sabha.

Meanwhile, the elections to the post of deputy chairperson of Rajya Sabha will be held on August 9. The announcement by vice- president Venkaiah Naidu came even as opposition parties look to corner the government over the Assam NRC issue in the upper house.