Pataliputra Lok Sabha Constituency in Bihar: Candidates, Current MP, Voting Date And Election Results 2019
Image used for illustration purpose

Pataliputra, currently represented by BJP leader and Union Minister Ram Kripal Yadav, is one the seats from Bihar to watch out in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019. The constituency, along with 59 other seats across the nation, will go to polls in the seventh phase of the elections, scheduled on May 19. The parliamentary constituency number of Pataliputra is 31. The seat is located in state capital region, bordering the constituency of Patna Sahib. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Polls in Bihar.

Notification for the polls in Pataliputra, along with the other constituencies set to be contested in phase-7, was issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) on April 22. The candidates will be allowed to file their nominations by April 29. The Mahagathbandhan has re-fielded Misa Bharti, the daughter of RJD supremo Lalu Prasad, who unsuccessfully contested from the seat in 2014. The National Democratic Alliance has given the ticket to the current BJP MP Ram Kripal Yadav.

In the 2014 general elections, the seat was won by Ram Kripal Yadav with a margin of nearly 41,000 votes against his nearest RJD rival Misa Bharti.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 7: Schedule, Date, States And Constituencies

Will the BJP retain the seat? Answer would known on May 23, when the results of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be declared by the Election Commission. Apart from the overall results, pollsters are intrigued by the outcome in Bihar, as the state - with 40 MPs - plays a critical role in deciding who forms the next central government.