Patna Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency in Bihar: Candidates, Current MP, Voting Date And Election Results 2019
Image used for illustration purpose

Patna Sahib, the seat currently held by BJP-turned-Congress leader Shatrughan Sinha, will go to polls on May 19, when the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be contested. Patna Sahib is among the 59 parliamentary seats which will be contested in phase-7 of the general elections, including eight from Bihar. As per the press statement issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI), Patna Sahib is parliamentary constituency (PC) number 4. Geographically, the seat is located in central Bihar, with the district of Muzaffarpur to the north and Bhojpur to the west. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Polls in Bihar.

Notification for the 59 seats going to polls in the seventh phase, which includes Patna Sahib, was released by the ECI on April 22. Aspirants were be asked to file their candidatures by April 29 -- the last date for filing the nominations. The Mahagathbandhan candidate from the seat is the incumbent MP Shatrughan Sinha, who would be contesting on the Congress ticket. The BJP-led NDA has fielded Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

In the 2014 general elections, the Patna Sahib constituency was won by Sinha, on the BJP ticket, with a margin of nearly 2.6 lakh votes over his nearest Congress rival Kunal Singh. The seat was won by him in 2009 as well.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 7: Schedule, Date, States And Constituencies

Results of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Patna Sahib, along with other constituencies across the nation, will be declared by the Election Commission on May 23.