Puducherry Lok Sabha Constituency in Puducherry Results 2019: INC Candidate Ve Vaithilingam Elected MP
Puducherry Lok Sabha constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Puducherry Lok Sabha constituency is the only constituency in the Union Territory of Puducherry. As per the implementation of the Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution of India in 1962, Pondicherry became a Union Territory. It got the name Puducherry in the year 2006. Here the election will be held on April 18, 2019, as per Phase II schedule of Election Commission of India. The constituency number of this seat is PC No.1. The results of the Puducherry Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Parliamentary seat in Puducherry at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Puducherry seat in the second phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 81.21 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Puducherry Lok Sabha seat.INC Candidate Ve Vaithilingam Elected MP. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

For the upcoming Lok Sabha Election 2019, All India NR Congress has nominated Dr Narayanasamy Kesavan whereas Indian National Congress (INC) has selected V. Vaithilingam to compete for General Election 2019. Apart from them, Bahujan Samaj Party has chosen AG Pathimaraj. The Election Commission has declared March 26, 2019, as the last date of filing on nomination from the seat. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 29, 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase II: List of States And Constituencies Voting On April 18.

Watch Lok Sabha Phase II Poll Details

In the 16th Lok Sabha Polls, this seat was won by R.Radhakrishnan from All India N.R. Congress(AINRC) who bagged 2,55,286 votes. The AINRC candidate defeated V.Narayanasamy from Indian National Congress(INC) by a margin of 60,854 votes. The candidate from All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(AIADMK),Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(DMK), Pattali Makkal Katchi(PMK), Communist Party of India(CPI) and Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) also competed for this seat in the previous election.

The General Election 2019 will be held throughout India starting from April 11, 2019 and will last till May 19, 2019. The voting will be divided into 7 phases. The result for all the phase will be declared on May 23, 2019.