The Sandesh Vidhan Sabha constituency falls in the Bhojpur district of Bihar. Voting in Sandesh for the Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 will take place on October 28. The Election Commission of India (ECI) on September 25 announced the election schedule for Bihar. Voting for the Sandesh election will take place on October 28 in the first phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Counting of votes for the Bihar polls will take place on November 10.

Polling for the 243-member Bihar assembly will be held in three phases. The voting for the first phase of assembly elections in Bihar will take place on October 28 in 71 constituencies. Here is the complete schedule of Phase 1 of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Dates And Schedule: Voting in 3 Phases on October 28, November 3 and 7, Poll Results on Nov 10. 

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 8
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 9
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 12
Voting Date  October 28
Result Date  November 10

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has fielded Kiran Devi from the Sandesh Assembly Constituency, while Vijayendra Yadav is contesting on Janata Dal-United (JDU) ticket. The Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RSLP) has given ticket to Shiv Shankar Prasad. In 2015, Arun Kumar Yadav had won the seat defeating BJP’s Sanjay Singh.

The Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 is the first major polling exercise since the outbreak of COVID-19 in India. The BJP is contesting 243-seat assembly elections in alliance with Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal-United (JDU) as part of 50:50 seat division formula. The saffron party will contest on 121 seats, while the JDU will field its candidates on 122 seats. Notably, the JDU will accommodate seven candidates of Jitan Ram Manjhi's HAM(S). Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Schedule to be Announced; Here's A Look at 2015 Poll Results And Current Strength of JD(U), RJD, BJP and Congress.

The Congress, a part of the Mahagathbandhan alliance in Bihar, is contesting on 70 out of the 243 seats. As per the seat-sharing pact finalised, the RJD would be fielding its candidates on 144 constituencies, and the Left Front comprising of CPI, CPI(M) and CPI-ML would be fielding their candidates in 29 assembly seats. The term of Bihar assembly will end on November 29.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
KIRAN DEVI (Current MLA)RJD79599
KAMAL KUMAR SINGHVoters Party International781
BABAN KUMARJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1977
KRISHNA PASWANBhartiya Kranti Vir Party1720
SANTOSH KUMAR SINGHRashtriya Jan Jan Party1660
MANMOHAN SINGHRashtrawadi Janlok Party (Satya)1516

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Oct 19, 2020 10:23 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website