The Telangana Rashtra Samithi has taken over 110 out of 120 municipalities in the municipal elections. The Indian National Congress has won in four municipalities while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) could secure only one seat. Counting for the 9 municipalities is still underway.

The state-ruling TRS is set to sweep the local body elections in Telangana. As per the trends so far, the party is poised to win 110 out of the 136 ULBs and nine among the 13 municipal corporations. Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao would be addressing the media at 4 pm.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) is leading in 63 urban local bodies (ULBs) as per the trends released by the State Election Commission so far. Celebrations have erupted at the party headquarters in Hyderabad, with the projections so far indicating a clean sweep for the party.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi has won 8 wards in the Dharmapuri municipality, whereas, the Congress has bagged 7 wards in the local body.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has won three wards in Sircilla region, which was earlier the home constituency of KT Rama Rao.

The counting of votes is currently underway of the Telangana municipal elections. The early trends are expected to emerge shortly. Stay tuned here for the updates.

Hyderabad, January 25: The results of Telangana municipal election results 2020 would be declared today. The State Election Commission was scheduled to begin the counting of votes at 8 am at all designated centres. The early trends were expected to emerge shortly after the counting of votes begin. The electoral battle was contested primarily among the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM). Stay tuned here for the live news updates and trends of Telangana civic election results 2020.

In the polls held on January 22 between 7 am to 5 pm, a total of 136 urban local bodies (ULBs) and 13 municipal corporations were contested. The corporations which went to polls include the high-profile Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation(GHMC), Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation (GWMC) and Khammam Municipal Corporation.

The crux of the battle was seen in Hyderabad, the state capital, where a four-way contest came to the fore. The AIMIM, which holds the parliamentary seat of Old Hyderabad, led an aggressive campaign to win the Hyderabad municipal body. The Congress also led a belligerent campaign, targeting the TRS for not issuing a resolution against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and the proposed nationwide National Register of Citizenship (NRC).

Among the 13 municipal corporations, the Mayors' posts in four local bodies have been reserved for Backward Class candidates, one each for SCs and STs and the rest are open to general category aspirants. Out of the 136 ULBs, 69 are unreserved, whereas, 44 are reserved for Backward Class aspirants, 18 for SCs and 5 for STs.