Lucknow, May 31: The Uttar Pradesh government has lifted the COVID-19 curfew from six more districts in the state.

The number of districts that will remain under a curfew is 14.

The six districts where the restrictions have been lifted are Prayagraj, Bijnor, Moradabad, Deoria, Baghpat and Sonbhadra.  Uttar Pradesh: Crucial Two-Day BJP Meeting in Lucknow; CM Yogi Adityanath To Review Past Programmes, Zila Panchayat and Assembly Elections

The number of active cases in these districts is now below 600.

The development comes a day after the state government eased restrictions in 55 districts.

However, the night curfew and weekend closures will continue statewide.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath had said that the curfew will automatically come to an end in those districts which report less than 600 active cases.

According to the existing restrictions, vaccinations, industrial activity, essential services and movement related to medical emergencies have been allowed to remain operational across the state.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on May 31, 2021 03:54 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website