Abhimanyu Mithun Takes Five Wickets in One Over in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 Semi-Final Against Haryana
Abhimanyu Mithun (Photo Credits : Twitter / @BCCIdomestic)

Abhimanyu Mithun entered the record books once again as the pacer took five wickets in his final over during the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy semi-finals against Haryana. The veteran is having a domestic season to remember. First, he bagged a birthday hat-trick and his maiden five-wicket haul during Karnataka’s Vijay Hazare final win over Tamil Nadu last month. On Friday, the pacer not only picked up his first T20 hat-trick but also took five wickets during his final over. And because of Mithun’s brilliance, Karnataka managed to restrict Haryana to a total of 194/8 in their 20 overs, which they easily chased down and booked their place in the finals. Karnataka Clinch Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019–20 Title After Defeating Tamil Nadu in Final, Twitterati Hail Abhimanyu Mithun’s Hat-Trick; KL Rahul’s Batting.

Mithun did not have a great game as the pacer went for plenty in his first three overs before re-writing the history books in his final over. The veteran conceded 18 runs in his third over, which was also the most expensive over of the innings. But during his fourth over, he claimed four wickets in his first four deliveries before bowling a wide and then gave away a single before taking his fifth scalp on the last ball to finish the match with the figures of five for 39 in his quota of four overs. Mithun’s victims in the final over included Himanshu Rana, Rahul Tewatia, Sumit Kumar, Amit Mishra and Jayant Yadav. Abhimanyu Mithun Celebrates 30th Birthday With Hat-trick, Fans Congratulate Birthday Boy's Remarkable Feat During 2019-20 Vijay Hazare Trophy Final.

Mithun's Final Over

Mithun on a Roll!

Bangladeshi bowler Al Amin Hossain is the only other player to taken five wickets in an over in a T20 match, the pacer achieved this feat in 2013. With this hat-trick, Mithun has also achieved the feat of being the first player to take a hat-trick in all three of India’s domestic competitions, the Ranji Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.